Cream Of Green Chile Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Another great soup recipe. Although it is not much to look at. I used fresh oregano and topped with fritos instead of tortillas. My kids 7 and 12, surprised me by eating it. I also topped with 1/2 mozzerella and 1/2 chedda, because that's what I had. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2000
This was a wonderful recipe. I added baked chicken that was covered with oregano and lime juice. The taste was magnificent, I will definately make this again. As far as kids go, unless they like green chile, it might be too spicy. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This is a wonderful, easy soup. I made it while visiting with friends during a storm while the power went on and off. Six of us had a bowl of the soup when it was done and everyone loved it. Don't know if it's too spicy for kids. In Texas, our kids are raised with spicy things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Awesome soup! I used my own chicken stock, and added some shredded chicken to it. I skipped the corn chips, too. Try this: Cut the corn off 2 sweet corn cobs and add it into the soup after step 2. You won't believe how good it is. What a wonderfully flavorful soup. Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Awesome soup! Everyone loves it. I didn't use all of the chilis called for so it wasn't too spicy. I also used some corn starch to thicken it up to my liking. For simpliciyt, I crushed corn tortilla chips and used them as topper with the cheese. Served this soup with the Black Bean and Corn Salad II recipe from this site and it was a huge hit. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I have recently relocated to the east coast from New Mexico and desperately needed a taste of home. Even my 10 year old daughter LOVED this. I will be making it again SOON, and will perhaps even add some diced chicken. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
We love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I recommend this recipe highly it's so good, and really not that spicy. I used a hand blender and slightly pureed it. I think this recipe is also really yummy without the cream. give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I would give it six stars if I could! I put in a little extra green chilis and extra oregano, and I used two handfuls of frozen chopped "hash-brown" potatoes. I refused to skimp on the butter - it seemed instrumental. I did add two shredded chicken breasts (and 1 more can of low-sodium broth) to make it a meal. Skipped the chips, used mozzarella cheese (lower fat, tastes like jack cheese), half-n-half instead of cream, and served with Mexican hot sauce (Tapatio). We like it spicy here in Nevada too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This soup is SUPERB! The whole time I was eating it, I couldn't stop remarking about how delicious it was! I found it to be very flavorful with just the right amount of spice! Thanks for such a fantastic recipe, which has definitely been added to my favorites! Next time, I will take the suggestion of others and add some shredded chicken to the mix to make it a little more filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States