Cream Of Green Chile Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Awesome soup! I used my own chicken stock, and added some shredded chicken to it. I skipped the corn chips, too. Try this: Cut the corn off 2 sweet corn cobs and add it into the soup after step 2. You won't believe how good it is. What a wonderfully flavorful soup. Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Pike

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used some roasted green chiles from last year to make room for the ones I got this year. This soup was excellent and I have shared it with some of the more adventurous folks I work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASABlue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I would give it six stars if I could! I put in a little extra green chilis and extra oregano, and I used two handfuls of frozen chopped "hash-brown" potatoes. I refused to skimp on the butter - it seemed instrumental. I did add two shredded chicken breasts (and 1 more can of low-sodium broth) to make it a meal. Skipped the chips, used mozzarella cheese (lower fat, tastes like jack cheese), half-n-half instead of cream, and served with Mexican hot sauce (Tapatio). We like it spicy here in Nevada too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
After reading all the related reviews I decided to try this recipe... I'm not quite sure why everyone is raving over this recipe - I didn't find this soup to be that great. I followed the directions and found it to be a bit bland, without any really outstanding flavour. I'm thinking that adding some Chipolte might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Utterly fabulous. I added chicken, so I used the chicken broth from that for the soup. I added lots of extra green chile (hot)and used evaporated milk in place of the cream. The consistency, for me, was perfect, with a nice creamy taste, but a brothier (though slightly thick and smooth texture). I took some of this to share with co-workers and everyone raved! Those that cook asked for the recipe, and those who don't cook asked me to bring it again! Thank you Holly! This recipe ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Awesome soup! Everyone loves it. I didn't use all of the chilis called for so it wasn't too spicy. I also used some corn starch to thicken it up to my liking. For simpliciyt, I crushed corn tortilla chips and used them as topper with the cheese. Served this soup with the Black Bean and Corn Salad II recipe from this site and it was a huge hit. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I left out the corn tortillas and added sour cream instead and it tasted just like Potato Chili Soup I used to make from a neighborhood cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was DELICIOUS on a cold winter's day! I subbed butter for the margarine, didn't add cheese, added a jalapeño, and served chorizo on the side (which people plopped into the soup, and which I might cook into the soup next time since it was so tasty). Thanks for an EXCELLENT and easy recipe that made the house smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Awesome soup. I used about 1 1/2 cup of fresh roasted green chili instead of caned. When I was done I blended it to make a smooth soup and garnished it with longhorn cheese , sour cream and real bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very delicious and very spicy! I would recommend to partially puree this soup if you're looking for a creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States