Cream Of Green Chile Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2000
This was a wonderful recipe. I added baked chicken that was covered with oregano and lime juice. The taste was magnificent, I will definately make this again. As far as kids go, unless they like green chile, it might be too spicy. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This is a wonderful, easy soup. I made it while visiting with friends during a storm while the power went on and off. Six of us had a bowl of the soup when it was done and everyone loved it. Don't know if it's too spicy for kids. In Texas, our kids are raised with spicy things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
i'm thrilled its not one of those 'cream of..." recipes where you have to puree the ingredients. the texture was superb...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
Fun recipe that packs a lot of flavour and not too much heat. I pureed about a third of it before adding the cream, for a thicker, more chowder-like soup. I also used more garlic, and added a bit of a South Western Spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
My husband really liked this receipe. I thought that it was too spicy. I added some chicken to the receipe to make it more of a meal. My husband ate it with chips and thought it was better than the chicken soup I normally make for him. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Awesome soup! I used my own chicken stock, and added some shredded chicken to it. I skipped the corn chips, too. Try this: Cut the corn off 2 sweet corn cobs and add it into the soup after step 2. You won't believe how good it is. What a wonderfully flavorful soup. Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Awesome soup! Everyone loves it. I didn't use all of the chilis called for so it wasn't too spicy. I also used some corn starch to thicken it up to my liking. For simpliciyt, I crushed corn tortilla chips and used them as topper with the cheese. Served this soup with the Black Bean and Corn Salad II recipe from this site and it was a huge hit. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very delicious and very spicy! I would recommend to partially puree this soup if you're looking for a creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I have recently relocated to the east coast from New Mexico and desperately needed a taste of home. Even my 10 year old daughter LOVED this. I will be making it again SOON, and will perhaps even add some diced chicken. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
i MADE THIS SOUP EXACTLY AS THE RECIPE STATED AND IT WAS WONDERFUL! I WILL PUT IT ON MY "KEEPER" LIST..THANKS HOLLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States