Cream Of Green Chile Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
So many people thanked me for this recipe that I have to give it 5 stars. I added jalepenos to make it spicier and it was perfect. I liked it without the cream, so I left it on the side so people who aren't used to spicy food could add some. It got rave reviews with and without the cream. I used vegetable stock to make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Another great soup recipe. Although it is not much to look at. I used fresh oregano and topped with fritos instead of tortillas. My kids 7 and 12, surprised me by eating it. I also topped with 1/2 mozzerella and 1/2 chedda, because that's what I had. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This soup is SUPERB! The whole time I was eating it, I couldn't stop remarking about how delicious it was! I found it to be very flavorful with just the right amount of spice! Thanks for such a fantastic recipe, which has definitely been added to my favorites! Next time, I will take the suggestion of others and add some shredded chicken to the mix to make it a little more filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I would give it six stars if I could! I put in a little extra green chilis and extra oregano, and I used two handfuls of frozen chopped "hash-brown" potatoes. I refused to skimp on the butter - it seemed instrumental. I did add two shredded chicken breasts (and 1 more can of low-sodium broth) to make it a meal. Skipped the chips, used mozzarella cheese (lower fat, tastes like jack cheese), half-n-half instead of cream, and served with Mexican hot sauce (Tapatio). We like it spicy here in Nevada too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I recommend this recipe highly it's so good, and really not that spicy. I used a hand blender and slightly pureed it. I think this recipe is also really yummy without the cream. give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
We love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
After reading all the related reviews I decided to try this recipe... I'm not quite sure why everyone is raving over this recipe - I didn't find this soup to be that great. I followed the directions and found it to be a bit bland, without any really outstanding flavour. I'm thinking that adding some Chipolte might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
We really enjoyed this soup. I entertained over the holidays and wanted something easy to make and flavorful. I found it with this recipe. I'm not a very good cook and this turned out great. I used a previous reviewer's suggestion of pureeing one third before adding the cream. It made for a great consistency. I will make it again. Next time I'm going to add chicken and see what that does. My guests asked for the recipe. Thanks, Holly for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
i MADE THIS SOUP EXACTLY AS THE RECIPE STATED AND IT WAS WONDERFUL! I WILL PUT IT ON MY "KEEPER" LIST..THANKS HOLLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I have recently relocated to the east coast from New Mexico and desperately needed a taste of home. Even my 10 year old daughter LOVED this. I will be making it again SOON, and will perhaps even add some diced chicken. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States