Cream Of Green Chile Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Awesome soup. I used about 1 1/2 cup of fresh roasted green chili instead of caned. When I was done I blended it to make a smooth soup and garnished it with longhorn cheese , sour cream and real bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I was staring down a kazillion freshly-picked cubanelles and I just couldn't face another meal consisting of peppers 'fried' or stuffed in any way, shape or form. And so my search for something new led me to this soup. While cubanelles aren't the most traditional, they are *similar* to an Anaheim chile, so I gladly roasted, peeled and chopped my way through a bushel of peppers. I froze the majority, reserving about 1.5 cups for the soup (added 2 jalapeno for a little heat as cubanelles tend to be on the sweet side), then followed the recipe. Using the immersion blender gave the soup a creamier consistency, so I probably used less cream (or half-n-half in my case) than listed. Skipped the tortilla topping, but not the cheese! ... oh so good ... and oh so gone ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I love this recipe I have made it several times, the only base recipe change I made was to use mexican oregano. But depending on what I want I add extra things such as serrano chiles to make it spicy, chicken for a whole meal, or if I I want it thicker I add some corn starch to the cream before adding to the soup then bring it to a boil for one minute. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Pretty good. I added some pork to it as well to give it a little more texture and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
i thought this was fantastic, and my husband loved it. only reason why i put 4 stars is because it was missing something. maybe i should have used all hot chiles, i mixed mild and hot. it was less creamy than i thought, but was still good. i ommited the cumin because i dont like it and added a dash of paprika. easy to make and a very satisfying way of not eating meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
My family raved. I even forgot to put the cheese in and they loved it. Once the cheese was added it was over the top! A great soup-the potatoes make it hearty-but not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Utterly fabulous. I added chicken, so I used the chicken broth from that for the soup. I added lots of extra green chile (hot)and used evaporated milk in place of the cream. The consistency, for me, was perfect, with a nice creamy taste, but a brothier (though slightly thick and smooth texture). I took some of this to share with co-workers and everyone raved! Those that cook asked for the recipe, and those who don't cook asked me to bring it again! Thank you Holly! This recipe ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was a great recipe. I used 3 potatoes and used canned milk instead of the whipping cream. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was DELICIOUS on a cold winter's day! I subbed butter for the margarine, didn't add cheese, added a jalapeño, and served chorizo on the side (which people plopped into the soup, and which I might cook into the soup next time since it was so tasty). Thanks for an EXCELLENT and easy recipe that made the house smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States