Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I'm sorry but I cannot agree with the majority on this one. I was so excited to make this, but it was bland, runny, and very milky. I even tried to puree the leftover tomatoes and adding to make it thicker. I triple checked the recipe and didn't miss any indgredients, maybe I made a mistake but I won't be making again to find out. I wish I liked it as much as everyone else who reviewed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Delicious! I added squash to thicken it up and it was very tasty! I would recommend using cream or whole milk instead of non-fat milk to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
It was really good, but I also thought a little something was missing, a little dash of celery salt seem to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I didn't like this at first. One thing I did do differently was to use a food mill to puree the solids and strain out the tomato skins rather than just straining it. That may have contributed to the onion flavor being stronger than anticipated. I'm going to reheat the leftovers and garnish with bacon crumbles and maybe some croutons and see if that livens it up. (...I just changed my rating to 4 stars, it was very good the second day! Much more mellow. I'll make this again.) My advice, DON'T add canned tomatoes or sauce, then it's not FRESH tomato soup and it will be very acidic. Run the solids through a food mill or blender to get the most flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I made this soup tonight and, as others recommended, I blended the tomato and onion mixture and used cream instead of milk. It was okay but I found that it seemed to be missing something. Not sure what though... but it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORGGIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This soup was very easy to make and tasted wonderful. You will never drink the canned stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ozlem English
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Wonderful soup and a very easy recipe. Great meal for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelsW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Fergus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Very good and easy! a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Thank you for this quick and easy tomato soup recipe. The only things done differently was remove the tomato skins first by placing in boiling water. Also, after cooking tomatoes with onions etc. I ran everything through the blender then added to the thickened saucepan. Will be using this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I fixed this for my husband and myself and we both raved about it. I then sent it on to our kids and grandkids in Camino, CA and they say it's become their favorite soup. It's a truly fresh and satisfying soup!! Jeanne Trudeau Blachly, Oregon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States