Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I added 3 cloves of whole garlic and 2 chicken bullions in the tomato, onion, mixture simmered about 6 minutes. I did not drain and I pureed it all. I did chop about 6 medium tomato, skins and all. I used 4 Tbl of butter and 4 Tbl of flour. I add the milk 1/2 cup at a time to make sure it stays thick. 2 cups of milk is a little to much. This really did turn out to be the best tomato soup I and my husband have ever had!!! The best was instead of croutons all I had was Durkee fried onions to put on top, Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was so delicious! Had it with some grilled cheese...My modifications: I added a few cloves of garlic, didn't drain the delicious juicyness, and only added half the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Really good. I used fresh tomatoes from my garden and pureed most but not all, leaving a few chunks. It was almost like a bisque. I'll be making it continually until my tomato harvest is done. Then, well, I'll have to go to canned...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Soo good! I used home grown tomatoes and did not puree them. I like the lumps in my soup. I will make it again and cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Not my favorite. I used whole milk. In order to get tomato flavor I had to puree the tomatoes/onions, even then I ended up adding parmesan, cheddar cheese, and some wheat snack crackers to give it even a mild flavor. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
WAAAAY too much milk. Wasted a lot of ingredients by trying to make a larger batch. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was very good, but after lots of changes: 4 large tomatoes, peeled, celery seed and basil, and only 1 3/4 c milk. Also pureed the veggies after cooking and added all back to pot. Could have used more tomato flavor - next time I'll probably use 6 or even 8 tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A fresh quick soup. We flash froze whole tomatoes from the garden this summer and used them for this soup. Everyone enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Great, suggest the following changes: Definately scald and remove tomato skins. Added one clove garlic, one tsp dried basil. Used 5 big tomatoes, over-ripe and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Not very tomato-ey at all. Quite healthy, just not exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany

Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States