Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good. I did remove the skin from the tomatoes before adding to the soup (create an x in the skin and then boil for a minute or so until the skin starts to separate). I also used a stick blender to puree everything and I also added 4 oz of cream cheese just to make it a bit creamier. Next time instead of pureeing everything, I will leave a few chunks of tomato in there to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I would make it again without the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
very good. I use 1/2 & 1/2 when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I made this tonight for my son and I. We love ordering tomato soup any chance we get at our favorite restaurants. I wanted to make my own at home. This was a great base recipe. I did add basil, italian seasoning and garlic powder to kick it up a bit. It turned out to be delicious! The only thing I would change in this recipe would be to add more tomatoes. It wasn't as deep in color with just two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was okay. I had to season it up to make it more flavorful, otherwise it is pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this tonight. Its a really cold evening & i knew it'd be good for all of us. I used Roma tomatoes drizzled with a good olive oil that i roasted in my oven for about 45 minutes. Also some onions in the pan. After it cooled some, I whirled it in the food processor and mixed it with the nice roo. next time will process longer cause it was a bit too lumpy. but very tasty anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great! I added some basil,paprika and garlic powder! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Added a little sherry for richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This wasn't bad, but not enough flavor for me... *update* after letting it sit for a bit, the flavors improved. I think more simmering and some basil help the soup stand out. I found you can sub 1 cup of broth for the milk for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I added 3 cloves of whole garlic and 2 chicken bullions in the tomato, onion, mixture simmered about 6 minutes. I did not drain and I pureed it all. I did chop about 6 medium tomato, skins and all. I used 4 Tbl of butter and 4 Tbl of flour. I add the milk 1/2 cup at a time to make sure it stays thick. 2 cups of milk is a little to much. This really did turn out to be the best tomato soup I and my husband have ever had!!! The best was instead of croutons all I had was Durkee fried onions to put on top, Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States