Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I did not enjoy this soup. It was chunky and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This soup could have been a real winner! The ingredients are so simple and it must be way healthier than the can. However, once I added the juice to the white sauce it barely made a change in flavor or color. The soup was peach! It tasted like a bowl of peach bechamel sauce. One of the reviews said that blending the cooked onion and tomato yielded a very oniony tasting soup. So, to give it only a more tomato flavor, in the end, I added a can of diced tomatoes. It then tasted like a tomato soup and the chunky tomatoes made it feel even more substantial. I may make again, in a pinch, but only with the added can of diced tomatoes at the end. That one change made it close to perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Not much tomato flavor but easy to put together and I love the texture. I made exactly as written except used 4 medium tomatoes and butter instead of margarine. Next time I'll use more tomatoes, saute the onions along with some celery. Great jumping off recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
It was very different from boughten soup. Very light color. Will probably make again if I have alot of tomatoes. Had to triple to have any amount with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good. I did remove the skin from the tomatoes before adding to the soup (create an x in the skin and then boil for a minute or so until the skin starts to separate). I also used a stick blender to puree everything and I also added 4 oz of cream cheese just to make it a bit creamier. Next time instead of pureeing everything, I will leave a few chunks of tomato in there to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I would make it again without the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
very good. I use 1/2 & 1/2 when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I made this tonight for my son and I. We love ordering tomato soup any chance we get at our favorite restaurants. I wanted to make my own at home. This was a great base recipe. I did add basil, italian seasoning and garlic powder to kick it up a bit. It turned out to be delicious! The only thing I would change in this recipe would be to add more tomatoes. It wasn't as deep in color with just two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was okay. I had to season it up to make it more flavorful, otherwise it is pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this tonight. Its a really cold evening & i knew it'd be good for all of us. I used Roma tomatoes drizzled with a good olive oil that i roasted in my oven for about 45 minutes. Also some onions in the pan. After it cooled some, I whirled it in the food processor and mixed it with the nice roo. next time will process longer cause it was a bit too lumpy. but very tasty anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States