Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
With some modifications this soup was THE BEST tomato soup I have EVER had in my life. I think with these modifications, people will find that "something" they thought was missing. I used 3 vine-ripened tomatoes and one large sweet or vidalia onion. I simmered the tomatoes and onion and spices like it said. Just before it was done simmering I did step 2. Before adding the mixture from the other pot, I added a large can of crushed tomatoes. Then I added the mixture of tomatoes, onions and spices. I kept adding salt and pepper to taste. Towards the end I also kept adding parmesan(sp?) cheese to taste. You can add milk and/or water to make it creamier or soupier. You might want to go ahead and add another tomato or so if you want an extra tomato taste (I mean, in the begining, when simmering, not at the end of making it! haha) The only thing I would change is I would boil the tomatoes to remove the skins prior to simmering (at one point I thought there were worms in the soup, but it was tomato skin!). Also, it would be good served with a dollop of sour cream on top. This was very yummy, I will be using it over and over!! Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Thank you for this quick and easy tomato soup recipe. The only things done differently was remove the tomato skins first by placing in boiling water. Also, after cooking tomatoes with onions etc. I ran everything through the blender then added to the thickened saucepan. Will be using this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I didn't like this at first. One thing I did do differently was to use a food mill to puree the solids and strain out the tomato skins rather than just straining it. That may have contributed to the onion flavor being stronger than anticipated. I'm going to reheat the leftovers and garnish with bacon crumbles and maybe some croutons and see if that livens it up. (...I just changed my rating to 4 stars, it was very good the second day! Much more mellow. I'll make this again.) My advice, DON'T add canned tomatoes or sauce, then it's not FRESH tomato soup and it will be very acidic. Run the solids through a food mill or blender to get the most flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I made this with about 12 tomatoes and I was shocked! It was creamy, thick and so much better than supermarket soup. My partner was delighted with it too. We ate it with french bread and cheese...who needs spoons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This was a simple, fast, delicious soup. I only changed one step. Instead of straining the soup, I blended it for a smooth puree (using a hand blender) -- tasted incredible! I garnished with roasted corn and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I used the recipe as base after reading the reviews. I believe the beef base and celery seed really added a nice touch, and after being raised on the canned stuff, my 7 & 9 yr old kids LOVED this recipe. I used 5 tomatoes, chopped; 1 cup chopped onion; 1 teaspoon white sugar; salt and pepper to taste; 1/2 teaspoon celery seed;1 tbsp beef boullion ("beef base") or 1 beef or chicken boullion cube; 2 tbsp butter; 2 tbsp flour; 2 cups whole milk. After the onions were soft (12-14 mins), I pureed the mixture in the blender, half a batch at a time. I rinsed the pot then melted the butter, added flour and milk, and cooked for 5-7 mins stirring constantly so the milk wouldn't burn, until thickened. Then I added the pureed tomatoes and onion and heated through. Serve hot with a garnish of goldfish crackers, a handful of shredded cheese and/or parmesan. Made 4 medium servings. Great with a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I fixed this for my husband and myself and we both raved about it. I then sent it on to our kids and grandkids in Camino, CA and they say it's become their favorite soup. It's a truly fresh and satisfying soup!! Jeanne Trudeau Blachly, Oregon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Excelente!! Added an additional can of stewed tomatoes and some shredded mozzarella, parmesan and cheddar. Had to thicken with an extra 1/2 tablespoon of flour. After a good 45 minute simmer, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
this recipe was like drinking a slightly tomato flavored hot milk shake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Very good. I will use half n half next time, since I like my tomato soup creamier. I also sauteed chopped onion to add. I pureed it in the blender instead of straining. Much better then the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States