Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
It was not too bad, but not too good either. I tried it both with the pulp and without and this is a passable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We left the tomatoes and onions in. It was better and would be even better if you blended them to make it smoother. We also added a cube of chicken bouillon to it and it gave it a bit more depth to the flavor, since other people had commented that it was missing something. We liked it, and will keep the recipe around for when we have way too many tomatoes. We doubled the recipe and recommend this to everyone else. It is designed for two and you might as well make twice as much instead of having to make it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This turned out terribly. I halved the recipe and ended up with too much cream and not enough tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I'm sorry but I cannot agree with the majority on this one. I was so excited to make this, but it was bland, runny, and very milky. I even tried to puree the leftover tomatoes and adding to make it thicker. I triple checked the recipe and didn't miss any indgredients, maybe I made a mistake but I won't be making again to find out. I wish I liked it as much as everyone else who reviewed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Delicious! I added squash to thicken it up and it was very tasty! I would recommend using cream or whole milk instead of non-fat milk to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
It was really good, but I also thought a little something was missing, a little dash of celery salt seem to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I didn't like this at first. One thing I did do differently was to use a food mill to puree the solids and strain out the tomato skins rather than just straining it. That may have contributed to the onion flavor being stronger than anticipated. I'm going to reheat the leftovers and garnish with bacon crumbles and maybe some croutons and see if that livens it up. (...I just changed my rating to 4 stars, it was very good the second day! Much more mellow. I'll make this again.) My advice, DON'T add canned tomatoes or sauce, then it's not FRESH tomato soup and it will be very acidic. Run the solids through a food mill or blender to get the most flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I made this soup tonight and, as others recommended, I blended the tomato and onion mixture and used cream instead of milk. It was okay but I found that it seemed to be missing something. Not sure what though... but it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Luce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This soup was very easy to make and tasted wonderful. You will never drink the canned stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ozlem English
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Wonderful soup and a very easy recipe. Great meal for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelsW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Fergus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States