Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My children loved this!! Easy to make! We added a dollop of sour cream on top of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Excelente!! Added an additional can of stewed tomatoes and some shredded mozzarella, parmesan and cheddar. Had to thicken with an extra 1/2 tablespoon of flour. After a good 45 minute simmer, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I SERVED IT AND IT WAS PERTTY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
very good,did'nt change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I used the recipe as base after reading the reviews. I believe the beef base and celery seed really added a nice touch, and after being raised on the canned stuff, my 7 & 9 yr old kids LOVED this recipe. I used 5 tomatoes, chopped; 1 cup chopped onion; 1 teaspoon white sugar; salt and pepper to taste; 1/2 teaspoon celery seed;1 tbsp beef boullion ("beef base") or 1 beef or chicken boullion cube; 2 tbsp butter; 2 tbsp flour; 2 cups whole milk. After the onions were soft (12-14 mins), I pureed the mixture in the blender, half a batch at a time. I rinsed the pot then melted the butter, added flour and milk, and cooked for 5-7 mins stirring constantly so the milk wouldn't burn, until thickened. Then I added the pureed tomatoes and onion and heated through. Serve hot with a garnish of goldfish crackers, a handful of shredded cheese and/or parmesan. Made 4 medium servings. Great with a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
So I really modified this recipie. I used canned tomatos, tomato puree, chicken stock, garlic powder, paprika and milk. It came out great. Nice and creamy with bit of a light smokey kick from the praprika. I will certainly make this again but I'm not sure that the soup I made resembled this recipie at all - but it was an inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I followed "Ashley's" instructions here & added a good bit of garlic powder. Pressed it through a wire mesh (saved tomato & onion chunks to cook with ground turkey?) and mixed it with the roux, which makes the soup thick and rich. Not bad with the additional canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I think this would be much better with twice the tomatoes and half the milk called for, plus adding some garlic might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States