Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I used the recipe as base after reading the reviews. I believe the beef base and celery seed really added a nice touch, and after being raised on the canned stuff, my 7 & 9 yr old kids LOVED this recipe. I used 5 tomatoes, chopped; 1 cup chopped onion; 1 teaspoon white sugar; salt and pepper to taste; 1/2 teaspoon celery seed;1 tbsp beef boullion ("beef base") or 1 beef or chicken boullion cube; 2 tbsp butter; 2 tbsp flour; 2 cups whole milk. After the onions were soft (12-14 mins), I pureed the mixture in the blender, half a batch at a time. I rinsed the pot then melted the butter, added flour and milk, and cooked for 5-7 mins stirring constantly so the milk wouldn't burn, until thickened. Then I added the pureed tomatoes and onion and heated through. Serve hot with a garnish of goldfish crackers, a handful of shredded cheese and/or parmesan. Made 4 medium servings. Great with a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
So I really modified this recipie. I used canned tomatos, tomato puree, chicken stock, garlic powder, paprika and milk. It came out great. Nice and creamy with bit of a light smokey kick from the praprika. I will certainly make this again but I'm not sure that the soup I made resembled this recipie at all - but it was an inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I followed "Ashley's" instructions here & added a good bit of garlic powder. Pressed it through a wire mesh (saved tomato & onion chunks to cook with ground turkey?) and mixed it with the roux, which makes the soup thick and rich. Not bad with the additional canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I think this would be much better with twice the tomatoes and half the milk called for, plus adding some garlic might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I agree with several other reviewers. This is a great base recipe -- what you do with it will make or break your soup. I started with cherry tomatoes rescued from the garden before the frost; about 8 cups. Then I sauteed with the onion and added 1 clove gartlic. I don't think I'd do that again. The sugar (which I tried to leave out then finally added) is important for that familiar flavour. Before I added the milk, I used my hand blender to puree the chunks. With the smaller tomatoes, there were too many skins to deal with. The result has been a very thick creamy soup. Again, I will make it without the garlic next time. Even my tomato-hater loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
this recipe was like drinking a slightly tomato flavored hot milk shake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I used 6 tomatoes from my grandpa's garden--and this soup still was very pale--and not as "tomatoey" as I would have liked. I actually ended up dumping a can of condensed tomato soup in just so my family would eat it. I may try again and add the tomato pulp rather than straining out the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Great soup from fresh tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNSUBSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cisco, Texas, USA
Living In: Itasca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States