Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Love this recipe. I don't use canned broth, instead I add water with chicken stock. Also, I add about an extra cup of milk to have more of this delicious soup and still turns out nice and creamy. Thanks for recipe, great bases for other veggie cream soups too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Way to much salt. I will probably make it again but will NOT use the recommended salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is phenomenal!! I did add a dash of garlic powder. Off the charts good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I thought this was okay. Make sure to blend the aspargus mixture well in the blender. I thought I had, but I still ended up with some fiberous pieces. I would even suggest straining the final soup. It will blend all of the sour cream in well doing that also. My only other suggestion is using homemade broth or low sodium broth along with adding the salt to taste. I found this to be very salty. I liked the pronounced asparagus flavor, the saltiness just kind of over-powered the flavor some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Wonderful recipe, we added truffle oil - superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielchughes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I made this for lunch as I had a bunch of asparagus and didn't know what to do with it. I did make some small tweaks to the recipe. I thought 1/2 c of stock wasn't enough to cover asparagus and onion to boil so I used all the required stock as well as added a bay leaf, 3 chunks of fresh ginger and two chopped tomatoes. For the rue, I just used more stock, so ingredients would have to change to 4 cups of stock, 2 for the first step and just shy of 2 cups to be whisked into the flour mix. I also used 2 Tbsp. of heavy cream with milk to make up the 1 cup of milk. It was delicious! Had 2 bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Wow. Just wow. This was absolutely delicious. The one and only change I made was to use 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp garlic powder instead of 1 tsp salt (already enough salt in the chicken broth). It was easy and by far the best cream of anything soup I've ever made or eaten. My husband wanted me to make it again the next day but requested a double batch. It actually reheated quite nicely. Love, love, love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Excellent. Made it exactly as written for Easter and all liked it - even the ones who don't eat asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This recipe was nothing special. If anything it was quite bland. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I substituted vegetable stock instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian. I never understand why people review a recipe when they didn't really follow it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States