Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is the best cream of asparagus I have ever had minus too much salt. Next time I will had 1 tsp. instead of 2 tsp. It was delicious!!! I saved the tips of the asparagus, steamed separately and added at the very end. I never blend those. They are too yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
My husband loved this. I sauted the asparaus in butter and cooked almost done. Then I assembled the soup and simmered. I did not make a rue or put milk in it. I did add some white wine. I used a hand blender and left some chunks of asparagus in the soup. I also used three and a half pounds of asparagus. I garnished the soup with bacon bits and sour cream. No soup was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I was really impressed with this soup. It is uncomplicated in ingredients, therefore allowing the asparagus flavor to come through. Simple, healthy and delicious. Enjoyed by all, even my seven year old who was too full, after second helpings, for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Azure
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
So simple and so amazingly tasty and impressive! I didn't have a fresh onion on had so I used those little dehydrated pieces and it was perfect....I made this with great results having never worked with fresh asparagus before, so how much easier can it really get? I used fat free sour cream and did 3/4 cream and 1/4 milk instead of just straight milk. I also went light on the lemon juice. I severed it with a dollop of sour cream, "homemade" pita chips sprayed with butter stuff, seasoned and baked and a sprinkling of cayenne pepper. I'm a bit astounded at how easy it is to make and how delicious and impressive it tastes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This soup is awesome. I had a bunch of leftover asparagus so I decided to try it out, and I'm so glad I did. I don't have a scale so I don't know exactly how much asparagus I added, but I imagine it's less than a pound - it could've used more. The only changes I made were to add garlic powder and a bit of red pepper, and I used cream instead of milk since I needed to get rid of it. I also skipped the lemon because I don't have any, but it tastes fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I substituted milk for soy milk and it is to die for...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This comes out as a very nice and very creamy asparagus soup. My only desire was that there was more of an asparagus taste to it.. either the onions or the stock or the combination thereof were just a little overpowering. So if i made it again i'd probably use less onions. I'd imagine this is a pretty nice soup for people who aren't crazy about asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
My husband and I were very happy with the way this came out. I did a few modifications. I wanted to double the recipe but only had one pound asparagus so I added one pound of zucchini in place of a 2nd pound of asparagus. I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Even with the zucchini it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe, very flavorful. I didn't have any sour cream so I just used a little more milk and I substituted olive oil for the butter. I also added dried dill and onion powder. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is super good but instead of bringing to boil the asparagus,onions and chicken broth I sautee the onions with butter until translucent and then add the asparagus and chicken broth until boil. This gives a better flavor to the soup I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States