Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was fantastic! I will make it again! Make sure to puree it well. Double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great recipe. I like the use of roux as a thickening agent. I used a leek instead of onion, vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and evaporated skimmed milk and the soup was delicious. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great soup. Left out most of additional salt since the chicken stock had plenty. Everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CatherineLilian
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
new favorite soup! i wont use any other recipe! all i changed, was that i doubbled the recipe and i made my own vegetarian broth. i put some carrots, mushrooms, onions, garlic powder, and garlic. i let that boil in water for 45 minutes then drained the liquid and used that instead of chicken broth. best soup ever! and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineLilian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is the best cream of asparagus I have ever had minus too much salt. Next time I will had 1 tsp. instead of 2 tsp. It was delicious!!! I saved the tips of the asparagus, steamed separately and added at the very end. I never blend those. They are too yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
My husband loved this. I sauted the asparaus in butter and cooked almost done. Then I assembled the soup and simmered. I did not make a rue or put milk in it. I did add some white wine. I used a hand blender and left some chunks of asparagus in the soup. I also used three and a half pounds of asparagus. I garnished the soup with bacon bits and sour cream. No soup was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I was really impressed with this soup. It is uncomplicated in ingredients, therefore allowing the asparagus flavor to come through. Simple, healthy and delicious. Enjoyed by all, even my seven year old who was too full, after second helpings, for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Azure
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
So simple and so amazingly tasty and impressive! I didn't have a fresh onion on had so I used those little dehydrated pieces and it was perfect....I made this with great results having never worked with fresh asparagus before, so how much easier can it really get? I used fat free sour cream and did 3/4 cream and 1/4 milk instead of just straight milk. I also went light on the lemon juice. I severed it with a dollop of sour cream, "homemade" pita chips sprayed with butter stuff, seasoned and baked and a sprinkling of cayenne pepper. I'm a bit astounded at how easy it is to make and how delicious and impressive it tastes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This soup is awesome. I had a bunch of leftover asparagus so I decided to try it out, and I'm so glad I did. I don't have a scale so I don't know exactly how much asparagus I added, but I imagine it's less than a pound - it could've used more. The only changes I made were to add garlic powder and a bit of red pepper, and I used cream instead of milk since I needed to get rid of it. I also skipped the lemon because I don't have any, but it tastes fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I substituted milk for soy milk and it is to die for...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States