Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
YUM!!! First, I apologize that I'm rating this without preparing it as written, but I'm married to a vegan (culinary sad face), so I'm limited in the ingredients I can use. I'm here to tell ya', if it was this good with my modifications, I can't imagine how amazing it would be as published. Here's a list of what I changed: * Used miso soup in place of the chicken broth * Omitted black pepper (that was my choice--I detest the stuff) * Used almond milk instead of cow * Omitted sour cream * Forgot to use the lemon juice As you can see, though the modifications were rather numerous, they didn't serve to substantially chance the flavor--just save some heated marital "discussion". You'll notice I DID leave in the butter. I've learned what a vegan doesn't know won't hurt them (teehee), and it's hard to get a roux to thicken without it. With that said, this will be moving to our "family favorites" list. Couldn't get enough! The only thing I changed that I think would really make any difference in the flavor is the sour cream. I'll definitely try to remember to add a dollop to my bowl next time I make it (I got it out this time, but--like the lemon--forgot to use it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXY821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Very good! My first time to make asparagus. Very easy recipe. My only changes are, I don't care for onions so I sauteed garlic, celery and asparagus in butter. The rest I stuck with the recipe. I will be making this again soon. Next time I will try it with sauteing the veggies in bacon. I will also add some sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This tastes awesome!!! I think way better taste than restaurant. I just put more half and half cream without sour cream as there's no sour cream at home sadly. Next time I will try again with sour cream. I am having with bread and it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This soup is sooooo yummy!! I followed the recipe exactly as written and added chopped potatoes. Thanks for the recipe!! Will definetely make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this but doubled the recipe, also used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Yum! This is a good cream vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
WOW! Asparagus is generally mediocre to my husband and I. The other day, we made the asparagus and garlic with butter but from now on, we will make this soup instead. This is amazing and we licked every drop left from the pot! I didn't have lemon juice so i omitted it. I also didn't have sour cream on hand so I substituted it with natural greek yogurt. Used a cup of fat free milk and it still turned out AMAZING (not to mention healthy too)! Next time, I think i'll add a tablespoon of less butter, only to make it even healthier. You won't go wrong with this recipe. Everything else, i followed it to a tee. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
wow--what a great, simple, and flavorful soup. I love that it uses ingredients we tend to have around. It was also good reheated the next day (we reheated it without boiling it). With a baguette or sandwich, you've got a simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Made this as the first course for Easter dinner. Very delicious fresh asparagus flavor! May become an Easter tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Wonderful. Do not add/delete anything to this recipe ...just follow and enjoy. Next time I will double. Absolutely WONDERFUL. Thank you thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States