Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by James Chen
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Had some extra asparagus so I decided to try this soup and it turned out GREAT! I used a whole stick of butter because I was too lazy to measure out 6 tablespoons. I cooked it on my gas stove over low heat so the onions wouldn't burn. I also mixed it with a hand blender rather than puree in a regular blender. I love using my Braun hand blender. Everyone liked it and it had great flavor. I left out the soy sauce and used a little extra white pepper. The tips were like little bonuses in the soup. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. My adult son stopped by just as I was serving it up, and he too thought it was excellent. I made a few minor changes as follows: I used skim milk for the milk called for in the recipe. 1 medium onion, chopped (instead of 1-1/2 cups), 4 Tbs. butter (rather than 6) and I replaced the 2 cups of water with 1 can of chicken broth plus 2 oz. water. Also, I only used 1 Tbs soy sauce. As another had suggested, I used my Braun hand blender directly in the pan which saved some time and clean-up. I heated the skim milk in the microwave and found the recipe came together quicker than expected. Thanks Holly for a an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I used chicken broth instead of the water for more flavor. I also decreased the amount of milk so it would be slightly thicker. A very fresh and flavorful soup. I will certainly make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Yum - this soup is good! Following suggestions of previous reviewers I only used 2 cups of milk - which led to a thick and creamy soup. I also used two chicken stock cubes. This plus the soy sauce made the soup a little too salty so I will omit the salt at the beginning in future. I had one bowl leftover and it tasted good cold, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This came out deelish! I too, omitted the salt since there was soy sauce included and it was fine. I added a touch more pepper as well. I also didn't puree the veggies, just mashed them, preferring a more substantial soup. One very good addition was using about 1/3 c. sour cream and mixing it in a small bowl with 1 cup of the hot soup mixture at the end of the cooking. Be sure to mix it in verrrry slowly, or the sour cream will curdle. Once it is thoroughly mixed together, add it to the soup pot - this will make for a very creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I liked this soup better before adding the soy sauce. Without the soy, it would have five stars. I also added less milk, because I like thick soups. In fact I used half and half instead. It makes it very creamy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This was a very good soup. I also put everything in one pot and used a hand blender to blend it all together. I used chicken stock instead of water and heavy whipping cream instead of the milk. I was hesitant about the soysauce but overall the soup was really good!! Made 4 servings in my family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Too many changes required to rate this any higher than three stars. First, taking the cue from other reviewers, I reduced the amount of milk by about half. Good call. Second, I reduced the amount of tamari (by necessity I used soy sauce) to only one-third the amount called for - again, good call. Third, the soup calls for water and I'm not sure why - it contributes no flavor and only dilutes what flavor there is. I used chicken broth instead. Finally, I would have much preferred the soup pureed completely. The chunky tips almost seemed as tho' they didn't belong and added a little bitterness as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
When asparagus is in season, the first thing I do is make this soup. My husband won't eat asparagus any other way. We like it so well that I've passed it along to others several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
A bit too thin, will use less milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States