Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Fresh tasting -- loved the dill. I used skim milk & half the butter to lower the calories. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James Chen
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Had some extra asparagus so I decided to try this soup and it turned out GREAT! I used a whole stick of butter because I was too lazy to measure out 6 tablespoons. I cooked it on my gas stove over low heat so the onions wouldn't burn. I also mixed it with a hand blender rather than puree in a regular blender. I love using my Braun hand blender. Everyone liked it and it had great flavor. I left out the soy sauce and used a little extra white pepper. The tips were like little bonuses in the soup. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I used chicken broth instead of the water for more flavor. I also decreased the amount of milk so it would be slightly thicker. A very fresh and flavorful soup. I will certainly make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
When asparagus is in season, the first thing I do is make this soup. My husband won't eat asparagus any other way. We like it so well that I've passed it along to others several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I liked this soup better before adding the soy sauce. Without the soy, it would have five stars. I also added less milk, because I like thick soups. In fact I used half and half instead. It makes it very creamy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
it was yummy. I don't have a food processor but using a mashed potato device worked nicely. less salt and a bit extra dill. excellent when served with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This recipe was amazing - I made it for Mother's Day and everyone loved it; even my sister who doesn't normally like asparagus. I used 3 cups of milk instead of four and the soup came out perfectly creamy. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This came out deelish! I too, omitted the salt since there was soy sauce included and it was fine. I added a touch more pepper as well. I also didn't puree the veggies, just mashed them, preferring a more substantial soup. One very good addition was using about 1/3 c. sour cream and mixing it in a small bowl with 1 cup of the hot soup mixture at the end of the cooking. Be sure to mix it in verrrry slowly, or the sour cream will curdle. Once it is thoroughly mixed together, add it to the soup pot - this will make for a very creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
My husband and I LOVED this, but the kids barely ate it. Can't wait until next spring when I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Yum - this soup is good! Following suggestions of previous reviewers I only used 2 cups of milk - which led to a thick and creamy soup. I also used two chicken stock cubes. This plus the soy sauce made the soup a little too salty so I will omit the salt at the beginning in future. I had one bowl leftover and it tasted good cold, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States