Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is a little more work, but well worth it turns out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I made quite a few changes but it was a great start, I just adjusted things for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William H. Wiersema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Lovely! I had some asparagus left that wasn't going to get cooked (bought too much at GREAT sale price!) This was delicate - I had no tamari, so used a little Worcestershire to add depth instead. Everyone enjoyed it ... easy ... great idea for jazzing up a meal with a special opening. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Divine! I would definitely not use more than 2 cups of milk - and next time I may use 1 c. half and half, 1 c. milk. My blender could not hold the both the asparagus mixture and the milk and so I had to just puree the mixture then put it back in the pot and whisk the milk into it. This recipe made me want a hand held mixer! I would love to make this for a dinner party, serving in martini glasses and garnishing with an entire stalk of asparagus. I would also want to experiment using white asparagus. The dill added a lovely, lovely flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. My adult son stopped by just as I was serving it up, and he too thought it was excellent. I made a few minor changes as follows: I used skim milk for the milk called for in the recipe. 1 medium onion, chopped (instead of 1-1/2 cups), 4 Tbs. butter (rather than 6) and I replaced the 2 cups of water with 1 can of chicken broth plus 2 oz. water. Also, I only used 1 Tbs soy sauce. As another had suggested, I used my Braun hand blender directly in the pan which saved some time and clean-up. I heated the skim milk in the microwave and found the recipe came together quicker than expected. Thanks Holly for a an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
It was ok it had an oniony taste that over powered the aspargus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Very tasty and SUPER CREAMY! I used a vegetable stock cube with the water and cut down on the milk a bit to get a nice thick soup. We absolutely loved it. I can't wait to make this in the winter as rich and creamy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This vanished quickly last night and was loved by all. I only added 1T. of the soy sauce, as I was a little skeptical, but I now think that 2T. would be fine, too. I used 1% milk to save calories, and it was nice and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesertBorn54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Really excellent. The soy sauce added dimension to the taste. I used low-salt soy sauce to reduce sodium content. I reduced the amount of mild used to keep the soup thick. Everyone loved this soup, even my 91-year old father who doesn't like vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Very good. Followed directions to a "T". Kids did not like it but once again the green vegetable is an automatic dislike. Oh well, more for my husband and I. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States