Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I had some asparagus that had partially frozen in my fridge. I almost threw it out, but decided to try this recipe instead. My hubby & kids don't like asparagus, but they tasted the soup & said it was really good. That's a glowing review for them! I followed others suggestions, used stock instead of water, used only 2 cups of milk (which I forgot to warm, but it worked fine) and only added 1 Tbsp. of soy sauce. Turned out great! Served with sourdough grilled cheese & turkey sandwiches and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this last night and it is the best! I followed others' advice and cut the milk down to 2 cups, and skipped the tamari. I also added a bit more of the white ground pepper for flavor. I'll be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I thought this was VERY good! I accidentally pureed the tips of the asparagus, but other than that, definitely a keeper! Great with some freshly shredded fontinella cheese and croutons on top - mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Great Soup! Would certainly make it again. Left the tamari out ... it was salty enough without it. Might try some grated cheese as a garnish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Great potential - way too much liquid as written. I cut my milk back to 1 1/2 cups, to keep a good texture on my soup. I definitely think 4 cups would kill the consistency, color and flavor of the asparagus. I love the recipe otherwise, so it's hard to give a less than glowing review, but I don't think this will come out all that great if you make it as written. Seasoned as written - love the dill in this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
so I used this as a guide line and made it my own by adding 2 yukon golds (for thickening)and some spinach ( hidden nutrition) and 2c of coconut milk in place of milk (no dairy) by reading other reviews i added just a splash of soy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Awesome soup!!!!! The flavors in this soup are great. I only used 3 cups of milk and did not heat it up. I added 4 tbs. white wine, 1 tbs. lemon juice, 1/2 cup sour cream and kept tasting and heating it and adding salt until I was satisfied. I used the whole asparagus. After I blended it, I ran it thru a cone mill and that kept the stingy pieces out. Very flavorful, creamy and excellent. I think the dill definitely helps this soup give it another layer of flavor that is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I was tempted to add some garlic (as we love garlic in our family) but decided to do the recipe exactly as written before changing things. The soup flavor is so multi-layered yet delicate I am actually glad I didn't add garlic as it may been a little over powering. Some people reduced the liquid to make it thicker but if you do the steps with the flour and the cooking times (I may have done a little more time on the flour step) the soup is wonderfully thick, creamy and flavorful. CostCo here has a ridiculously good deal on big bags of fresh asparagus. Take advantage. Fabulous recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made this with white asparagus - it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Not having tamari, I used 1 Tbsp soy sauce, otherwise cooked it exactly as posted. It was wonderful, a delight to all the senses. Afterward, though, my husband said, "Wouldn't it taste great with some clams thrown in." Perhaps it was the second tablespoon of soy that left it wanting... No worries; I'll be playing with this recipe again quite soon. Suggested: combine butter, garlic and fresh basil then spread on a french roll. Toast until edges are brown and serve promptly. Didn't have any, but a nice Chianti would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyrd Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States