Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
Best coconut cake ever. I made this for my husband for father's day. The statement "Just like mama used to make" is the ultimate compliment and I got it for this cake. A true traditional coconut cake. My children, ages 8 and 5, loved the cake. Flavorful, light, and easy to make. I made it a two layer cake by baking in two 8 inch pans and it came out great. The icing recipe gives way more than enough to give a thick middle layer. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This cake is so moist and delicious. I made a two layer cake and put a layer of pineapple in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
I promised my father-in-law a coconut cake for Father's Day. I wanted an easy sheet cake recipe so I wouldn't be in the kitchen half of a day. This was the easiest coconut cake I've ever made and very moist & delicious. Everyone loved it...even the kids! My husband has already asked for another!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2001
This cake is delicious. The texture is nice and dense. My kids (7 and 9) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I made this cake in two 8 inch rounds. I drained a can of crushed pineapple to put in between the to layers, then covered it with the frosting and the entire cake with coconut. It looked beatiful and was great. It even tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This cake is wonderful. Simply. but oh so moist and rich. And that was what I was looking for. I did top it with more than 2 T of flaked coconut though. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I made this as a layer cake for my 5 yr old's birthday. FABULOUS. One of the best I've made, and I've made a lot! This cake only got better after being in the refrigerator...(a great lunchbox treat). Two things to be aware of: The batter proved a bit too much volume for the pans, so a little bit spilled over. I cooled the layers and trimmed the lip that the spilling caused. After frosting, cake "settles" a teeny bit. Probably because of the oil, coconut cream, and sour cream. Since it was for my daughter, I left the top bare for a Barbie "frosting transfer", put the coconut on the sides, and added some Barbie pink and white heart sprinkles. It was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
What a delicious cake! I made it for Easter and it was a hit. I just made some minor modifications--I reduced the sugar in the frosting by a cup, used almond extract instead of the vanilla and put alot more coconut on top too. I also added a little coconut to the batter too. The cream of coconut and sour cream made the cake so moist and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Great cake! I made this for a birthday "luau" and it was a hit. I did change a couple things to lighten it up a bit. I used a light coconut milk for the cream of coconut, and fat free sour cream. I baked it the night before and frosted it the next day. As another reviewer suggested I used almond extract instead of vanilla and used alot more coconut on top. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This is a five-star recipe, folks. Some cakes are good, but this one is legendary. Not only fool-proof but indescribably delicious. Thanks, Corinne!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States