Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Sondra
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is the best coconut cake I've ever tasted! I'll usually share any recipe...But this one is now a well guarded secret among our family & friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Very, very good! Followed the recipe exactly as written except I used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut (which I couldn't find anywhere). Added toasted coconut on top for a finishing touch. It was very moist, very delicate, and amazingly sweet. Perfect for families!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by doreen bunten
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
this is a wonderful moist coconut cake. my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I made cupcakes using this recipe and I replaced the white cake mix with spice cake mix. They are very good, moist and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I've been looking for and baking different coconut cakes for the past several months (including ones from FoodTV chefs) and I believe this one is the best. I did make a few minor changes, not so much in the cake but the frosting. For the cake, I separated the eggs. I added the egg yolks with the cake mix, but beat and folded in the egg whites once the entire batter was smooth. It makes for a much lighter cake. I also added a touch of coconut oil for a little more intensive coconut flavor. I baked it in three 8" cake pans. For the frosting, I used coconut extract and two tablespoons of the cream of coconut instead of the milk. I added two cups of sweetened shredded coconut to the frosting. Once it was set up (after refrigerating it overnight), I patted more coconut all over the top and sides. It turned out so beautiful that my neighbors have put in their orders. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
OOOOOH MY!!! This cake was a hit for me..I made it and then used the pineapple filling recipe in between the layers...TO DIE FOR!!! I didn't use the cream cheese frosting, because I was covering it in fondant. What I did do, was put coconut extract in buttercream icing...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My first Coconut Cake. I felt like I was cheating with the cake mix, but I made this as a layer cake for my mom for Christmas. It turned out AWESOME! She said it was even better the next day. I used "Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting" Submitted by Tom on this website (LOVE this icing for many, many cakes) and I added the remaining cream of coconut to it. De-Lish! Oh, by the way, cream of coconut is found in the mixed drink section of the grocery store. :o) You should try this cake, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyraBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grottoes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This cake was AWESOME! For those of you that like light and fluffy cake, this is not for you as this cake is very dense. Also, too much frosting overpowers the taste of the cake so I'd recommend starting with just a bit and adding more if you need to. I did add about a teaspoon of coconut extract to the cake and substituted coconut extract (about 2 tsp.)for the vanilla in the frosting. Fabulous. Will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Fabulous cake in an 8" layer! Chill frosting if it is too runny and it will thicken right up. This is so fabulous that my son/DIL requested it as a tiered wedding cake. It does NOT do well when you use a 10" or larger pan. Add a few drops coconut oil to intensify the coconut flavor of the cake or frosting. A definite winner in a regular size cake. And absolutely super if you add a coconut custard filling! Just don't count the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
AWESOME is an under statement! My family and I love this cake. It's easy to prepare too! I have to fix this cake , so often that I leave ingredents at my relatives houses out of state. My sister love's the icying she reminds me of a child waitng for the bowl that Grandma use to save for us! LOVE is a great word for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States