Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I thought this cake was very average. It tastes pretty much like the cake mix. The coconut flavor almost disappears under the cake mix and frosting. If you love coconut and want coconut flavor, use your cream of coconut to make pina-colodas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
this cake is great, everytime i've made it everyone loved it, you would never believe it started from a box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This cake fell into a million pieces when I tried to layer it. For all of the effort it took, and for all of the shops I went to to try and find cream of coconut this recipe is NOT worth it. I didn't even get to sample the whole thing all put togewther because the cake never made it that far. Very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHELLYBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Yummmyyyy! 'Nough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I am sure it is a good recipe, but I changed some things after reading some of the reviews. What I made was great but didn't really follow the recipe. I made the cake like the recipe said but also added coconut extract to the batter. When the cake came out of the oven I poured coconut syrup on it. Also I added coconut extract to the frosting. So if you want more coconut flavor, that is what I did and it tastes like I am back in Hawaii. I hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I forgot the coconut cream so I infused evaporated milk with coconut. This cake turn out great and the icing is fabulous. I even baked it in a bundt pan. Next time I will remember the cream but was just a very forgiving recipe and tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Security

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Deliciously moist! I added 1 tablespoon of coconut flavoring to the batter and to the frosting. I also added chopped pecans to the frosting along with the coconut. I have been asked for the recipe several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This cake was delicious. It was moist, but not too crumbly. I followed the other reviews and added about a teaspoon and a hald of vanilla extract to the cake batter. I also substitued the vanilla for the coconut extract in the frosting, and I also added about 1/4 of a teaspoon of almond extract. It gave the frosting a yummy nutty coconut taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is a very good cake, however, several complained the frosting was runny. I used only 4 oz. of the cheese, added 2 T. of coconut cream instead of milk and 3 cups of the sugar,(sifted) It came out perfect ! Also you can add some coconut extract if you want to. I added 1/2 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was delicious. I made it for Easter for the whole family, but ate more than half of it myself. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States