Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I'll admit it felt like cheating to start with a cake mix. But this cake was wonderful. I turned out of the pan very easy. But, I did use a different icing from Coconut Cake I from Kathy. It turned out beautiful and even traveled perfectly for an hour and a half car trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I dont know what I did wrong but my cakes didnt rise. It look like some one sat on them! I cut the pieces up and called it a coconut bundt cake. The taste was great, but it didnt rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Unbelievably good. I made this for Easter and it went down a treat. Be sure to get Cream of Coconut. It's in the drinks aisle of your supermarket, it is used to make Pina Coladas. Anyway, don't think you can sub out coconut milk because it's nothing like it. Also the can of Cream of Coconut I got 16oz so after I used it in the recipe I brushed the extra on each layer before frosting. Made for a bit of extra flavor as well as keeping the whole thing incredibly moist. I made a 3 layer cake (there is more than enough batter here to do that with) and I toasted about a 1/2 cup of the shredded coconut and sprinkled it evenly between the layers and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This cake was a hit with the family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this cake - it is light and fluffy and moist. I beat 4 egg whites instead of the 3 eggs and folded them in at the end. I did not like the frosting. It was insanely sweet. I'll use my own recipe next time. I will probably add coconut extract to the cake next time as well since I didn't have a very strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Totally a five star cake. The only thing is I wish the cake had more of a coconut taste. I think the next time I will add coconut extract to the cake. This time I added almond extract which was good but next time coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was just ok. The icing was slightly runny. Had to refrig before using. The coconut taste was mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Absolutley LOVED this recipe. Very MOIST! I took it to work for a Boss's Bday...Prayin that it tasted good. Don't want to disappoint the boss! And it was perfect. Everyone was wanting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moonshadow31301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The cake was great - good flavour and very moist. I didn't like the icing, but it's because of the modifications I made, not the recipe. I used the leftover cream of cocnut milk in the icing instead of reg milk and coconut extract instead of vanilla - tooo sweet! Way too sweet. Next time I'll stick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrealikestocook
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I am rating the cake only and it was excellent. I filled between the layers with lemon curd and frosted with Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting (on this site) sprinkled on top with coconut. Excellent. My standard coconut cake for now and forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States