Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
very good and moist cake! its very sweet but when frosted with cream cheese frosting its to die for!!! i absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
the cakes fell apart-thankfully the frosting glued everything back together. I did not use cream cheese frosting-used buttercream which we all liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwolff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Soooo good! Soooo simple! Thanks Corinne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Supper easy cake to make. I frosted it with the cool whip and pudding frosting from this site and substituted the left over cream of coconut for 1/2 of the milk in that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is truly a SCRUMPTOUS cake. My husband said he wanted a coconut cake for his birthday and this was succulent! For us, the icing was a bit too sweet and will change that a little the next time. This is my NEW FAVORITE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was delicious. I fixed it for my husband to take to work and everyone loved it. The only thing I would do different is the icing. I would add butter to it and it would be like the traditional carrot cake icing and would cut the sweetness. I loved the denseness of the cake--it reminded me of cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I followed the advice to add whites later and the cake is seriously light and moist, even on day 3! While the cakes were still hot, I poked holes in it and spread on some of the remaining cream of coconut (found in the alcohol aisle at the grocery store). For the frosting, I used about 3 cups p. sugar, 6 oz. cream cheese, 1/4 butter, a little vanilla, about 1/4 cup cream of coconut, and 1/2 a container of Cool Whip. It was great! It's calling me right now---I've got to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I followed some of the modifications suggested by others. With the cake part, I added the egg yolks with other ingredients and once batter was blended well added the 3 egg whites. It did make it much lighter. Once cake was out of oven, I made some knife slits and poured some of the cream of coco over cake. Then, I used crushed pineapple on the bottom layer and frosted only top and sides. Cuts down on sweetness. I also used cream of coco in place of vanilla and only used 3 cups of confect sugar. Superb! People are still talking about this cake.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
very good! I followed other suggestions and seperated eggs, used the remainder coconut milk for frosting and used almond flavoring instead of vanilla. Very moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I'll admit it felt like cheating to start with a cake mix. But this cake was wonderful. I turned out of the pan very easy. But, I did use a different icing from Coconut Cake I from Kathy. It turned out beautiful and even traveled perfectly for an hour and a half car trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States