Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
PERFECTION! I would not change a thing. 8-10 people tried this and truly thought it was one of the best soups they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I'll be eating this soup for many days, with pleasure. It's definitely a meal. But I made several changes and I'll probably make more in the future. First? Less chicken, more rice. I used four boneless chicken breast halves and one box of Near East long grain and wild rice (I'm still ambivalent about the flavor packet). Next time I will use three pieces of chicken and double the rice. There was literally so much chicken that I could hardly detect the rice at all. Second? To the initial broth I added a few dried bay leaves, one teaspoon garlic powder, some salt and pepper, four cubes of chicken bouillon, and one teaspoon onion powder. The broth was MUCH improved. Anyway, a few other changes: I didn't have wine. But instead of leaving it out altogether, I used 1/8 cup vinegar, diluted with 1/8 cup water, and mixed in one teaspoon of sugar. I tasted it beforehand and it was pretty delicious by itself, like a cider vinegar. And finally, I did use porcini mushrooms (next time with additional regular mushrooms for texture), along with a few dashes of sage and thyme. I planted a sprig of rosemary in the soup for the final fifteen minutes and the result was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I actually used this as a base recipe for cream of turkey soup, omitting the rice. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
The soup turned out great, everyone loved it, I will make again. I did make some modifications. I used boneless skinless breasts. I sautéed the veggies, simmered the chicken once diced, then added water & chicken bouillon. I also added several seasonings (sage, rosemary, basil, bay leaf, garlic) to the broth. I don't measure exactly, but the thickener worked wonderfully giving it the time it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made it several times. This last time I took the advice of making it with a rotiserie chicken. It added to the flavor and cut down on time. Great idea. My one problem is that I am impatient with the roux and the soup is often not thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Definitely FIVE STARS!!! I loved this! I didn't have wild rice so I used a box of Uncle Bens Wild Rice Blend w/ seasoning pk. plus 1 cup of brown rice. PERFECT! I also sliced & steamed some carrots in the microwave to throw in. I wanted it herb-y so I added some garlic, sage, basil and rosemary. I'll be making it often. Thanks for the recipe, it was just what I had in mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This soup was great! Awesome flavor and better than most restaurant recipes. I did add some garlic mentioned by other reviews and omitted the mushrooms because my husband does not like them but other than that followed the recipe to a T. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Carroll, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Wow...I took a risk serving this to my parents who hate alcohol in anything and in fact, like things quite bland and plain. They loved it and had seconds! It is very flavorful and filling. It was just right on a frigid day served with crusty bread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Freedom, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I agree that the soup was a little bland and added extra garlic. I put the vegetables in a food process or and minced them up pretty small. I also added carrots and used Portabelle mushrooms. I served it to company and they all raved about the recipe. I will cook it again as it served all 8 of us a hardy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I thought this was marginal....it was too thick for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States