Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe was quick and easy, and as my husband says "The best soup he has ever had". One side item. I didn't have a lot of time, so I used rotisserie chicken and 48oz of chicken stock instead of water. Everything else I kept the same. The chicken granules gives awesome flavor. I cannot wait to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
this soup is great. i think the directions could be made easier to save some time though. i cooked the chicken then took it out of the pot. i then poured the broth throgh a strainer and poured it back into the pot. i brought the broth to a boil and added carrots,onion, and celery, and a cayeene pepper[w/o seeds] i let it boil for 10 min. then i added 2 boxes of rice a roni long grain and wild rice and the chicken reduced the heat to med/lo and simmered for 25 min. while that is simmering i mixed the butter,flour,and milk to make the sauce when it was thick i poured it into the pot w/ everything else stirred it in good and seasoned to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Everybody loved it! The only things I changed were; butter instead of oil, added garlic, used portobello mushrooms, no celery.It is very labor-intensive, so make sure you have enough time or, like I did, do your broth and chicken ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very bland! I ended up using a lot more soup base. Carrots would have been a nice flavor addition. Used butter instead of margarine. Seems silly to use fake butter after going to the trouble of making stock. The fat/flour ratio was wrong and should have been equal amounts. The flour made the dish gummy and should have had heavy cream instead of milk and flour. All in all needs way too much tweaking to bother with again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Thanks to all for the suggested substitutions. I followed the recipe except I used the suggested porcini mushrooms, bay leaves and Uncle Bens w/seasoning pack. My substitutions included making the broth from backs and wings that I keep in a freezer bag. Simmered about 2 hours w/onions, celery, bay leaf. Drain, discard the meat and bones. I then cut up a honey rotisserie chicken purchased from the market and added (great flavor!). I partially cooked the rice w/ seasoning packet then added to broth. I did not use milk in my roux. I instead used the water from the reconstitute dried mushrooms and extra chicken broth. Tastes wonderful the next day. Rich, creamy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Excellent soup, but made vegetarian by using l bag Morningstar Farms chicken stips, chopped to 1/2 inch pieces. Added 4 cloves garlic-minced, 1 large carrot-finely chopped and 2 small potatos, peeled and cubed into 1 inch cubes, added fresh flat-leaf parsley, about 3T. I also used 32 oz 'no-chicken broth' (a vegetarian chicken flavored broth) and 3 cups water along with 2 cubes vegetable broth bouillon (instead of the 7 cups water suggested). Increased salt a bit and used coarsely ground black pepper instead of the white pepper, which I didn't have. Turned out absolutly excellent! Served with hot garlic bread and slices of soft white cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Allan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Awesome!! I used olive oil for the saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanasmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I sauted two cloves garlic with the celery and onion as recommended by other reviewers. I also added more salt (to taste) and an extra glug of wine. A big hit at my church soup supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I used half chicken stock, half water.It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Fantastic flavor, but could use more liquid. It was great the first day, but the second day, it had little to no liquid. However, I added some water to the leftovers, heated on med. heat, and stirred and it turned out just as great as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States