Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
My dad and I love chicken and wild rice soup so I was really excited when he found this recipe. We didn't add the mushroom or wine and it turned out well though it wasn't very soupy. We made it a second time recently and this time whisked the flour and milk together to make it more smooth, added more rice, and added more milk- it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinko Sacredheart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This soup is WONDERFUL! I always get so many compliments on this recipe. To make it a million times easier (and tastier in my opinion), I sub shredded rotisierre chicken in. I also use 7 cups of store bought chicken broth instead of the 7 cups of water. I omit the white wine at the end. This is a sure crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara jean the cooking queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Good recipe. I made my own changes of course and just used regular rice, although I admit it would have been better with wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I love Panera's cream of chicken & wild rice soup. I just made this recipe and it tastes exactly like it! I didn't use the white wine and I added quite a bit more salt and a little garlic salt. I used an Uncle Ben's wild rice, Mushroom recipe. I also used carrots. I'm so happy with the way it turned out. I halved the recipe and it made so much I'm going to have 8 8oz. servings. I can't wait to eat all of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This soup is very tasty, but as written, takes way too long to prepare. I buy a (cooked) rotisserie chicken for the meat and used boxed/canned chicken broth. Like others have mentioned, it feels like something is missing from this soup recipe, and adding vegetables makes it much heartier. I have also made it with white rice instead of wild rice and it tastes delicious as well. It also cuts down the preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is a great soup that will be added to a regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MG648

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I followed this pretty much to the letter. I do not like celery so I quartered it and pulled it out before adding the milk mixture. That way you get the flavor not the texture. I also left out the butter. Instead I skimmed the top of the liquid from the stock. My husband and I loved this. It is in my box already. A little labor intensive but definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe. The whole family loved it (the wine was omitted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My family loves this soup! I make it at least twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Pretty tasty with a good flavor. I feel like it was missing something. Next time I think I'll add some carrots and maybe some more wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States