Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Very good- I increased the wine - my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was very good...I only made a couple minor alterations: I used dry sherry to deglaze the pan instead of the white wine, and had some leftover carrots to use up so I sliced them up and added them with the celery & onion sautéed at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A family favorite. We've made it several times. Leftovers are even better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
GREAT CREAM SOUP! Instead of water used canned chicken broth. Cut up the veggies real little and used one carrot. Also, substitued butter for oil. Oh...I don't care for wild rice so left it out. After I sauted the veggies, I added the wine at that time. I will definetly make this one again. Worth it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe is truly as awesome as everyone claims---better than Panera! I made with a few modifications based on other reviews: no mushrooms (not a fan)but added carrots and some garlic with other veggies, used Uncle Ben's original recipe prepared as directed but slightly undercooked, added the wine after sauteeing veggies, used butter instead of oil, used leftover chicken breast and store-bought chicken broth, added celery greens during second simmering. I will make this often and share with family and friends. The BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe is great as is! Like all great recipes, it adapts well to personal tastes. But, if you're not an adventurous cook, the original recipe will still please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I quadrupled this recipe and it worked great. Upon reading other reviews of it being on the bland side, I went ahead and used chicken broth instead of water. As it cooked and I tasted, I also found it necessary to add about twice the indicated salt and pepper, and garlic as well. It is very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I used chicken breasts I also added carrots to the recipe. for this recipe. Mine was very thick so instead of soup we put it on toast it was wonderful. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Thank you for this recipe, here in Chicago some of the diners have this soup, unfortunately I never get there the day they have it and it was great being able to make it at home and my family actually like it. Didn't have any white wine, only red but the taste is amazing. I especially like that this recipe doesn't require anything crazy and has ingredients that are in everyone's pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
All the people that rated this soup 5 stars were CORRECT! I did what Cara Jean did-rotisserie chicken, store bought chicken stock, no wine. Added carrots, more chicken, and 2 cups wild rice. This reminds me of Panera's chicken and wild rice but BETTER! It still took me about an hour and fifteen minutes but much less than the original and way worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lang McNeilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States