Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe is great as is! Like all great recipes, it adapts well to personal tastes. But, if you're not an adventurous cook, the original recipe will still please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I quadrupled this recipe and it worked great. Upon reading other reviews of it being on the bland side, I went ahead and used chicken broth instead of water. As it cooked and I tasted, I also found it necessary to add about twice the indicated salt and pepper, and garlic as well. It is very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I used chicken breasts I also added carrots to the recipe. for this recipe. Mine was very thick so instead of soup we put it on toast it was wonderful. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Thank you for this recipe, here in Chicago some of the diners have this soup, unfortunately I never get there the day they have it and it was great being able to make it at home and my family actually like it. Didn't have any white wine, only red but the taste is amazing. I especially like that this recipe doesn't require anything crazy and has ingredients that are in everyone's pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
All the people that rated this soup 5 stars were CORRECT! I did what Cara Jean did-rotisserie chicken, store bought chicken stock, no wine. Added carrots, more chicken, and 2 cups wild rice. This reminds me of Panera's chicken and wild rice but BETTER! It still took me about an hour and fifteen minutes but much less than the original and way worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
My dad and I love chicken and wild rice soup so I was really excited when he found this recipe. We didn't add the mushroom or wine and it turned out well though it wasn't very soupy. We made it a second time recently and this time whisked the flour and milk together to make it more smooth, added more rice, and added more milk- it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinko Sacredheart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This soup is WONDERFUL! I always get so many compliments on this recipe. To make it a million times easier (and tastier in my opinion), I sub shredded rotisierre chicken in. I also use 7 cups of store bought chicken broth instead of the 7 cups of water. I omit the white wine at the end. This is a sure crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara jean the cooking queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Good recipe. I made my own changes of course and just used regular rice, although I admit it would have been better with wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I love Panera's cream of chicken & wild rice soup. I just made this recipe and it tastes exactly like it! I didn't use the white wine and I added quite a bit more salt and a little garlic salt. I used an Uncle Ben's wild rice, Mushroom recipe. I also used carrots. I'm so happy with the way it turned out. I halved the recipe and it made so much I'm going to have 8 8oz. servings. I can't wait to eat all of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This soup is very tasty, but as written, takes way too long to prepare. I buy a (cooked) rotisserie chicken for the meat and used boxed/canned chicken broth. Like others have mentioned, it feels like something is missing from this soup recipe, and adding vegetables makes it much heartier. I have also made it with white rice instead of wild rice and it tastes delicious as well. It also cuts down the preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States