Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
i love making soups, so i tried this one yesterday. it rocks! i added a finely diced poblano pepper and some fresh parsley for color and flavor, and some extra onion, but followed the recipe, otherwise. it goes into the keeper file. my girlfriend commented, "that stuff was great...and, filling, too."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. I actually used some left over turkey that we had smoked. I am definately going to be making this again! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Everyone in my family loves this soup! I added a few cloves of garlic and carrots for color! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This is absolutely AWESOME! I used chicken breast and an 8 oz package of whole mushrooms which gave me more than 1 cup when sliced but since we like mushrooms, I used the whole package. I sauteed the vegetables in butter instead of margarine and for added richness I used two 24 oz cans of evaporated milk plus one cup fresh milk. I used two packages of Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice (without the seasoning packs). This was definitely one of the most delicious soup recipes I have ever tried! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I Love Love LOVE this soup!!! It is hearty enough for "comfort food" but sophisticated enough to serve to guests. This is one of the best finds I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Very good! The wine is what really makes it special. I followed the recipe just about exactly, although I threw a few garlic cloves and bay leaves in the water while the chicken was cooking (and later discarded them with the bones). I also substituted carrots for the mushrooms, as my husband isn't a fungus fan! The only comment, our batch needed significantly more salt. I used reduced sodium bouillion granules, so this may have been the reason. No problem to add the salt, but it seems like 1/2 tsp. would be not nearly enough for such a big pot of soup! Will make again, though, with these minor changes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was really good!! Instead of a whole chicken I used chicken cutlets. I cubed the chicken put it in a pot with butter, salt & pepper and cooked it. Then I added 3 cans of chicken broth replacing the stock that the whole chicken would have cooked in. I also used regular rice instead of the wild. It came out perfect. My family really loved it. My son said "this is incredible".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM1960

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Wow!! I made this last night. It was so good that my boyfriend gobbled down 3 huge bowls. I added carrots, the celery and the onion to the chicken while it was boiling. I used chicken tenders cut up into chunks before boiling. I used 5 cups water and 2 cups chicken broth. I also added about 1/4 tsp of sage, thyme, and rosemary to the boiling chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Thank you for the recipe, Thomas. This soup in filling and tastes wonderful! I used two cups of milk and two cups of half & half in place of the four cups of milk, and cut the wine in half. Definitely a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Yummy! This soup tasted so good! Like the others, I used chicken broth instead of water... I used half the amount of oil, and 1/3 of the wine to saute the veggies in. I also used breats instead of a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States