Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I added flavor in my preparation, hence the 3 star rating on the basic recipe which I thought would be too bland as written...I need my garlic. The end result was amazing (better than any restaurant version) and well worth the time. My significant changes: 1)Three dried bay leaves added to simmering chicken; 2)replaced fresh mushrooms with 1/2oz of dried chopped up porcini mushrooms to the soup,the flavor was amazing; 3)sauted four chopped garlic cloves with veggies, 4)added wine right after sauteing veggies rather than at end of recipe; 5)added a handful of fresh sage leaves towards end of cooking because I have them (dried sage, thyme, rosemary or other aromatic herb would be great, but added earlier); 6)increased salt and black pepper to taste. 7) I used 3 bone-in chicken breasts (plenty of meat) and substituted 5 cups of homemade stock and 2 cups for remaining water in recipe 8) butter instead of margarine. This recipe is a great starting point, but needs your personal touch to make it truly spectacular! I've made this with and without wine, it really makes a difference. So does the dried porcini. Regular mushrooms just don't add the drool-worthy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
My husband and I eat soup year round. This has become our number one choice. The only "problem" is we can't stop at just one or even two bowls. Every time we make it we take some to a friend or two and everyone one of them begs for the recipe. Our only change was to use 2 packages of Mahatma wild rice (and spices included) because we were unable to buy plain wild rice, and we add more mushrooms. We omitted the salt as it wasn't needed. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I made it like it said, I thought it was kind of bland but my boyfriend said wild rice is and he really enjoyed it I just like things a little spicier but maybe I was numb from drinking the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This is a fantastic soup: rich, flavorful, and elegant. The wine gives it a sophistication it might not otherwise have and the whole chicken gives it the feel of a complete meal. I used 1 cup of heavy cream in place of one of the cups of milk, just because I had it on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe. Don't be afraid of the long ingredient list, people -- it's not difficult and it's very worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
VERY GOOD RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
i love making soups, so i tried this one yesterday. it rocks! i added a finely diced poblano pepper and some fresh parsley for color and flavor, and some extra onion, but followed the recipe, otherwise. it goes into the keeper file. my girlfriend commented, "that stuff was great...and, filling, too."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. I actually used some left over turkey that we had smoked. I am definately going to be making this again! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Everyone in my family loves this soup! I added a few cloves of garlic and carrots for color! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This is absolutely AWESOME! I used chicken breast and an 8 oz package of whole mushrooms which gave me more than 1 cup when sliced but since we like mushrooms, I used the whole package. I sauteed the vegetables in butter instead of margarine and for added richness I used two 24 oz cans of evaporated milk plus one cup fresh milk. I used two packages of Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice (without the seasoning packs). This was definitely one of the most delicious soup recipes I have ever tried! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I Love Love LOVE this soup!!! It is hearty enough for "comfort food" but sophisticated enough to serve to guests. This is one of the best finds I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States