Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I grilled my chicken breasts after marinating them in balsamic dressing on my George Foreman grill. All drippings were added. I decreased the amount of water to about 2-3 cups and added carrot, fresh parsley and doubled the mushrooms (portabellos). I used real wild rice and the color is much more of a burgundy than the picture on the recipe. I used a Reisling based on other comments, lightened and brightened it right up. I'm the Soup Nazi and this one made in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My husband LOVED this. I followed the additions of a couple other reviews and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is one of the best soups I have ever made. I made the recipe as stated except I added some chopped carrots in with the celery and onions for my toddler grandson. (I like to make sure he gets lots of veggies.) The whole family loved it, which is quite rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Very good soup. I followed the recipe closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is one of the best soups I have ever had. I get rave reviews every time I make it. I add a whole cup of wine instead of 3/4- just cause I like a little more wine flavor- but other than that I think this recipe is totally BOMB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was fabulous. I have been wanting to make this for a while but just haven't been able to. I finally get the chance and it was fabulous! Didn't really change the recipe up much like I normally do. Kept to the original very closely. The only thing that I did was add chicken base instead of the boullion only because that's what I had. It was great! Thanks for a great recipe! Oh, i did think it was a little thick the next day so we added some more milk and a bit of water to it...absolutely perfect the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is fantastic! My families FAV. I did change the recipe a bit too, I followed the advice of FOODSLAVE, but used regular mushrooms and have also used baby portabello mushrooms, YUM. Will try porcini next time. Also, i made this recipe with leftover turkey from the holidays, will have to try with chicken. Great with leftover turkey! Thanks for the basis of a FANTASTIC recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
YUM! I was out of milk and wine, so I used evaported milk and beer. I also added a little granulated garlic. The result was the best Chicken Wild Rice Soup I've ever had, and I live in MN. I'm sure the original recipe would be almost as good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcrippes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was a good start to what could be an AWSOME recipe!! The changes I made are as follows. 1.) Used 3 chicken breast, skin on, bone in. I roasted these in the oven at 375 for 45 minutes then separated meat. 2.) Doubled the veggie amount and added 4 chopped cloves of garlic and a package of fresh mini portabella's . 3.) Used real chicken broth instead of water. 4.) Added a pinch of thyme and 3 bay leaves with the veggies and also added the wine at that time. 5.) Used one package of Lipton Chicken rice and one package of Uncle Ben’s quick herb and butter(it's what I had on hand). Made these as directed, but I decreased the water by a ½ cup and did not cook completely. 6.) Only used 5 cups of milk. 7.) Used butter instead of Margarine. After I made these changes, I would give this recipe 5 stars!!! My husband loved it and said it tasted like it came from a restaurant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
One of the best soups my husband and I have ever had. It is a favorite of ours and it is perfect for those cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States