Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Excellent soup, but made vegetarian by using l bag Morningstar Farms chicken stips, chopped to 1/2 inch pieces. Added 4 cloves garlic-minced, 1 large carrot-finely chopped and 2 small potatos, peeled and cubed into 1 inch cubes, added fresh flat-leaf parsley, about 3T. I also used 32 oz 'no-chicken broth' (a vegetarian chicken flavored broth) and 3 cups water along with 2 cubes vegetable broth bouillon (instead of the 7 cups water suggested). Increased salt a bit and used coarsely ground black pepper instead of the white pepper, which I didn't have. Turned out absolutly excellent! Served with hot garlic bread and slices of soft white cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Allan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Awesome!! I used olive oil for the saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanasmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I sauted two cloves garlic with the celery and onion as recommended by other reviewers. I also added more salt (to taste) and an extra glug of wine. A big hit at my church soup supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I used half chicken stock, half water.It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Fantastic flavor, but could use more liquid. It was great the first day, but the second day, it had little to no liquid. However, I added some water to the leftovers, heated on med. heat, and stirred and it turned out just as great as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! My husband rarely tells me how much he likes my cooking, and he is not a big soup eater, but he loved this (with changes). I had to use what I had on hand. I had a quart sized ziploc of the chicken I had deboned from a rotisserie chicken I bought at the store. I like to find quick recipes to use with the leftover rotisserie chicken which is already cooked and seasoned and yummy, so I always buy a big chicken and debone it that night after dinner. I had instant white rice, and no wine and it was still great. So I made my soup very quickly, less than an hour. I did not measure anything. I sauted celery, onions and carrots all cut into small pieces. Added fresh sliced mushrooms and quickly after added probably upwards of 7 cups of boiling water with dissolved chicken bouillon cubes and then I added the chicken in small pieces. I cooked the rice with a cube of chicken bouillon. I was in a hurry, so I made a smaller amount of the flour/milk/butter thickening stuff, and added a can of fat free cream of chicken soup. I had maybe 2 cups of that when I was done. I added the rice to the soup, had everything stirred up, and then added the cream of chicken soup mixture, let it simmer for 10-15 mins or so and served. The only thing was mine was fairly salty, fine by itself but when I added any salty crackers it was too much. I would not be surprised at all if I had this in a restaurant and I would think it tasted homemade and delicious. Like I said, my hubby lov
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
States it feed 8. More like 16.This was a great soup. My family loved it. Nice to have a soup recipe that didn't call for a condensed soup. I left out the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Loved the flavor. I shredded 6 chicken breasts, accidentally dumped the water it cooked in..so I added extra bullion and new water. I also added Cream of Sherry, some red pepper flakes and I think I will double the rice next time. Over all, LOVED it. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very bland...needs a lot of seasoning up. I added garlic salt (would have sauteed garlic with vegetables if I knew it would have needed them), ground sage, rosemary, and thyme. It is a decent starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Delicious, great on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States