Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! My husband rarely tells me how much he likes my cooking, and he is not a big soup eater, but he loved this (with changes). I had to use what I had on hand. I had a quart sized ziploc of the chicken I had deboned from a rotisserie chicken I bought at the store. I like to find quick recipes to use with the leftover rotisserie chicken which is already cooked and seasoned and yummy, so I always buy a big chicken and debone it that night after dinner. I had instant white rice, and no wine and it was still great. So I made my soup very quickly, less than an hour. I did not measure anything. I sauted celery, onions and carrots all cut into small pieces. Added fresh sliced mushrooms and quickly after added probably upwards of 7 cups of boiling water with dissolved chicken bouillon cubes and then I added the chicken in small pieces. I cooked the rice with a cube of chicken bouillon. I was in a hurry, so I made a smaller amount of the flour/milk/butter thickening stuff, and added a can of fat free cream of chicken soup. I had maybe 2 cups of that when I was done. I added the rice to the soup, had everything stirred up, and then added the cream of chicken soup mixture, let it simmer for 10-15 mins or so and served. The only thing was mine was fairly salty, fine by itself but when I added any salty crackers it was too much. I would not be surprised at all if I had this in a restaurant and I would think it tasted homemade and delicious. Like I said, my hubby lov
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
States it feed 8. More like 16.This was a great soup. My family loved it. Nice to have a soup recipe that didn't call for a condensed soup. I left out the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Loved the flavor. I shredded 6 chicken breasts, accidentally dumped the water it cooked in..so I added extra bullion and new water. I also added Cream of Sherry, some red pepper flakes and I think I will double the rice next time. Over all, LOVED it. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very bland...needs a lot of seasoning up. I added garlic salt (would have sauteed garlic with vegetables if I knew it would have needed them), ground sage, rosemary, and thyme. It is a decent starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Delicious, great on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Photo by HJCARY
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My husband and I loved this. We made it with the San Francisco Sourdough Bread on this site. Its creamy and hearty. We did mince some carrot to give it some color but other then that followed the recipe exactly. We will be making again. My husband wants to take it to a potluck in a couple weeks at his work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This soup is an after Thanksgiving tradition for my family. It has replaced Chook! We also add in Rotisserie chicken from the store. We leave out the white wine; I think it kills the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Take a while to make, if you're in a hurry (work full time + wifey). If not, it's worth the wait. Very delicious! I would make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Only omitted the mushrooms! DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Awesome soup!!! Time consuming - yes, but so well worth it. I sauted the veggies in butter and added a cup of diced carrots and 2 cups of fresh mushrooms. A few reviewers commented that it takes long to thicken the roux. It does, but continue whisking and you will end up with a nice thick roux to add to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States