Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Very good! The wine is what really makes it special. I followed the recipe just about exactly, although I threw a few garlic cloves and bay leaves in the water while the chicken was cooking (and later discarded them with the bones). I also substituted carrots for the mushrooms, as my husband isn't a fungus fan! The only comment, our batch needed significantly more salt. I used reduced sodium bouillion granules, so this may have been the reason. No problem to add the salt, but it seems like 1/2 tsp. would be not nearly enough for such a big pot of soup! Will make again, though, with these minor changes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was really good!! Instead of a whole chicken I used chicken cutlets. I cubed the chicken put it in a pot with butter, salt & pepper and cooked it. Then I added 3 cans of chicken broth replacing the stock that the whole chicken would have cooked in. I also used regular rice instead of the wild. It came out perfect. My family really loved it. My son said "this is incredible".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM1960

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Wow!! I made this last night. It was so good that my boyfriend gobbled down 3 huge bowls. I added carrots, the celery and the onion to the chicken while it was boiling. I used chicken tenders cut up into chunks before boiling. I used 5 cups water and 2 cups chicken broth. I also added about 1/4 tsp of sage, thyme, and rosemary to the boiling chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Thank you for the recipe, Thomas. This soup in filling and tastes wonderful! I used two cups of milk and two cups of half & half in place of the four cups of milk, and cut the wine in half. Definitely a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Yummy! This soup tasted so good! Like the others, I used chicken broth instead of water... I used half the amount of oil, and 1/3 of the wine to saute the veggies in. I also used breats instead of a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was great but it makes a lot (for two adults and two kids)!!! Cut in half for a smaller group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is a very tasty, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is a cold weather favorite. Hearty meal soup. I left out the mushrooms and added carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is the best! The whole family loves this soup. I didn't do anything else to it, just followed the recipe as printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Great recipe! I followed it to the letter and it was really tasty. I added some brown rice to the soup to make it a bit more filling, but that's it. I froze the leftovers and took them to work for lunch. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States