Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is a GREAT soup recipe! Believe it or not the key is using very good wild rice; I got mine from a small town in Northern Minnesota called Bemidji. I substituted A good chicken base for the Bouillon as I believe it gave more flavor. It added so much texture and flavor the second time I made this recipe I will always use it to make this soup. Instead of milk I used a 50/50 split of Whole Milk and Heavy Whipping Cream. I found that this makes for a much richer soup. Be careful, as this does thicken the listed recipe quite a bit, but that is easily controlled by adding a little of the reserved stock to the cream base while it is warming. I have made this soup half a dozen times since I first found this recipe last winter and it never fails to please. This is an outstanding fall/winter soup that compliments any meal rather nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karin
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Yum! I love a good thick soup... and this one did not disappoint... great flavor and consistancy...I did add a little garlic to the oil...and then added the vegies. (what can you do I am an Italian stereo type) I also used fresh cracked black pepper instead of white ground pepper. To speed up the recipe... you can use boneless skinless chicken breasts...boil those...and use 7 cups of chicken broth instead of the boullion cubes and reserved stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! It reminds me of the soup at Panera Bread. I made a couple of changes. I use boneless chicken breasts, which I cook the day before to make it less time-consuming. I couldn't find wild rice by itself, so I buy two boxes of Uncle Ben's and cook it without the butter or seasoning packets. I use 3 cups whole milk and one cup heavy cream, and 4 cups store-bought chicken broth with 3 cups of water from boiling the chicken. I serve it with Pepperidge Farm Sourdough Artisan bread and salad. It takes a while to make the soup, but it's totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H@ppy2BHere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I've been making this recipe for the past 2 years, and sorry I haven't reviewed it sooner. This is GREAT. Good comfort food. I've shared the soup with folks at work and everyone raves about it. Creamy flavor with a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALMONGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I love this soup. It has a wonderful flavor. Definitely make the whole batch and share it with neighbors and friends. They'll love you for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Flavor was OK. I had difficulty stirring the flour into the butter. Usually the ratio is more around 1:1. I pulled some of the flour out, and then added more later by blending some of the soup into some flour and adding back to the pot. The soup also separated and was watery on top after regrigeration, so maybe I did something wrong. I probably won't make again, as I was looking for a creamier, thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Very good soup! I do have a few little tips...I was always taught, that when you make broth, (chicken or beef), always add celery, onion (lots of them), parsley or other herbs you like to the pot, as your broth will be much tastier! Use the outside of the celery bunch for the broth, as the inside, more tender parts, will be nicer in the finished product. Don't worry about the size of the "chunks" as you discard these veggies. After the broth and meat are done, strain and discard all of these veggies and herbs. Then continue with the remaining recipe. Also, if you can not find regular wild rice, use a box of Uncle Bens long grain and wild rice, but omit the seasoning packet. I made half of the soup recipe, and only used one box. It was a great soup. I wish we would have had bread bowls, as it was so nice and thick! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
don't get scared off by the long ingredients list, this recipe is WORTH IT! i made it for a dinner party and it was a total hit. it was a bit time consuming but i have no complaints because this soup was just plain delicious! it tastes great even on the next day =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Delicious (but time-consuming!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
was very good but makes so much! you might want to half the recipe unless you are making for guests. a little time consuming as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States