Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I cannot give a high rating to a soup that you have to dr. up so much. This had zero flavor until I fixed it up with chicken soup base and garlic. I also had to thicken up quite a bit. Not sure what everyone thought was so great about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Like other reviewers have noticed, this soup does not come out thick enough as written. It's a milky consistancy. I had to thicken it up on my own. I pureed some of the veggies and I let it reduce quite a bit. Like another reviewer, i used the dried porcini mushrooms which without, this soup would not had flavor. I will make this soup again with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was an excellent recipe! I had been looking for one that was similar to the soup at panera bread. This is even better. I made it with chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken and left out the white wine. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This was AWESOME!!!! I made it with 1/2&1/2 an also heavy whipping cream and cut out the wine.(we dont like to watch our calories) I also added a can of cream of chicken at the end to kick it up and Im so glad i did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonlesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent! My family loves soup this one was another great one! I cheated and used an already cooked rottisiere chicken and canned chicken stock to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is a GREAT soup recipe! Believe it or not the key is using very good wild rice; I got mine from a small town in Northern Minnesota called Bemidji. I substituted A good chicken base for the Bouillon as I believe it gave more flavor. It added so much texture and flavor the second time I made this recipe I will always use it to make this soup. Instead of milk I used a 50/50 split of Whole Milk and Heavy Whipping Cream. I found that this makes for a much richer soup. Be careful, as this does thicken the listed recipe quite a bit, but that is easily controlled by adding a little of the reserved stock to the cream base while it is warming. I have made this soup half a dozen times since I first found this recipe last winter and it never fails to please. This is an outstanding fall/winter soup that compliments any meal rather nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karin
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Yum! I love a good thick soup... and this one did not disappoint... great flavor and consistancy...I did add a little garlic to the oil...and then added the vegies. (what can you do I am an Italian stereo type) I also used fresh cracked black pepper instead of white ground pepper. To speed up the recipe... you can use boneless skinless chicken breasts...boil those...and use 7 cups of chicken broth instead of the boullion cubes and reserved stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! It reminds me of the soup at Panera Bread. I made a couple of changes. I use boneless chicken breasts, which I cook the day before to make it less time-consuming. I couldn't find wild rice by itself, so I buy two boxes of Uncle Ben's and cook it without the butter or seasoning packets. I use 3 cups whole milk and one cup heavy cream, and 4 cups store-bought chicken broth with 3 cups of water from boiling the chicken. I serve it with Pepperidge Farm Sourdough Artisan bread and salad. It takes a while to make the soup, but it's totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H@ppy2BHere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I've been making this recipe for the past 2 years, and sorry I haven't reviewed it sooner. This is GREAT. Good comfort food. I've shared the soup with folks at work and everyone raves about it. Creamy flavor with a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALMONGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I love this soup. It has a wonderful flavor. Definitely make the whole batch and share it with neighbors and friends. They'll love you for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States