Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My absolute favorite!!! Love this soup at Panera and I think this recipe is even better! Would make this anytime. I used chicken thighs bonless and skinless to save time and work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
My twin daughters love the Cream of Chicken and Wild Rice soup at Panera Bread (bakery chain)and I was looking for a recipe that would duplicate what they liked. This soup is even better. Not low cal but DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! I made it easy on myself and bought a rotesserie chicken & used that microwavable wild rice (didn't cook it, just popped it in the pot). It turned out great, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This soup was pretty good. I had to doctor it quite a bit. Added extra salt and garlic. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Very delicious! Restaraunt quality coming out of my kitchen was a big surprise. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is excellent! Reminded me of a wild rice soup they serve at a local restaurant. I added a little less chicken bouillon granules. We will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I liked this recipe, though it was labor intensive. For those who had trouble with the soup not being thick enough, keep in mind you really have to stir the milk in the flour/butter roux for quite a while on medium heat. It takes about 15 minutes for it to get thick enough, and it should get so thick that it's tiring to keep whisking it. It might not seem like it's going to thicken but keep at it and it will. I didn't use bouillon but seasoned the water that I boiled the chiken in with lots of celery, garlic cloves, salt and pepper. It was still a little bland so I added a few dashes of worcestishire sauce and it was fine. I might put a little less wine in mine next time, it was a bit overpowering. I used Sauvignon Blanc but I think sherry might taste better. Real wild rice is the key in this, I think. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I think that this soup is great! The changes I made are that I roasted my chicken, used a can of evaporated milk, and I used a box of wild rice mix because I could not find plain wild rice. I used everything in the box. I would like to try the recipe again with the wild rice. I would still cook my chicken the same way instead of boil it. Thanks so much for the recipe Thomas. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Fabulous! My husband and I both enjoyed it for several nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is a great soup! I did read some of the reviews stating their soup did not come out thick enough. I did not have that problem, but perhaps that is because we LOVE rice and add a touch more. This probably helps thicken it up. If that's not an option, maybe some light cream, as opposed to milk? That has worked for me with other cream soups that were too runny. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirjmiggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States