Cream Of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
We made this recipe just now and left out the sugar and replaced the salt with a full teaspoon of chicken bouillon and a quarter teaspoon of Thyme. This recipe... is amazing. We don't have much food around here but the staples and when we found this recipe we were shocked and tried it. I don't like soups at all and this cream of chicken soup... is amazing. Amazing! All the flavors needed to do was to come together and it became super delicious! Great work AmberJo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
It served its purpose and gave me lots left over for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I read another review about adding corn and making this soup into a chowder, so I did that. Then, I looked at Chicken Corn Chowder recipes on allrecipes. They all included potatoes. So, I added a couple of tbsps of instant potato mix. That also thickened it instead of the corn starch. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, and added some additional spices (thyme and Italian seasoning) this was a quick meal for myself so I just made a bologna sandwich to go with it ;) Loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmberJo
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
My 11 yr. old daughter decided to make this for supper one night. We did alter the recipe a bit. We didn't add the sugar to this recipe, just didn't feel it needed it. The chicken was seasoned as it cooked with some herbs and finely diced onions which we then added to the soup as well. We also added a little bit of dry white wine to the roux for extra flavor. I love the idea of using this recipe as a lower fat/lower sodium cream of chicken in place of canned soups. We did try it just as is and it wasn't bad. I just normally wouldn't eat cream of chicken soup plain. Overall easy recipe and I'll be using it again for a canned soup replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I took the advice of RENZINO2 and with those few changes, the soup turned out perfectly fine. I also substituted cream for part of the milk ingredient, just a half cup or so, and it turned out plenty thick without adding the cornstarch. I'm a newlywed always looking for good, simple dinner ideas and I'm going to hang onto this one. Could be good with any number of things thrown in, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I didn't like this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We didn't add sugar or taste this plain...honestly, I wouldn't eat cream of chicken plain whether it's canned or not. We used this in a chicken and broccoli casserole and it tasted BETTER than when we use the canned cream of chicken. Perhaps some reviews are negative because they actually like to eat cream of chicken by itself? Try this in a casserole and you might actually like it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I haven't been cooking for 40 years like some other people reviewing this recipe but I do know a bad soup when I taste it. This is the worst soup I have ever had. The recipe above does not describe cream of chicken soup at all, it is more of a sugar stuffed watery chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was definately too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
My husband and I really liked this...I did change it, since my son and I are allergic to dairy...we used unsweetened soy milk in place of regular milk, did not add sugar (strange?), added a splash of lemon juice, used chopped garlic instead of powder; cornstarch to thicken and added rice to make it a meal! Will make again - my son loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States