Cream Of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
On a mission to make my own Cream Of Chicken for Chicken and rice, I tried this recipe. It was too sweet, so I added a tablespoon of chicken bullion, 1 tablespoon of poultry seasoning, 2 tablespoons each of onion power and garlic powder. I also boiled my rice in chicken stalk. These two mixed together got excellent reviews for my dinner party. If you can add the right amount of spices, I bet this recipe would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
No chicken flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
It doesn't have a chicken flavor. I tried adding chicken broth and other seasonings and it didn't help. I'll go back to my favorite Cream of Chicken Soup From Scratch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this my own by adding a few things like garlic, onion and herbs, and swapping the flours for the healthier versions, as well as the oil for butter. Make this how you like- you can't go wrong! Thanks for the great recipe! I'm not going back to the canned stuff thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Good base for recipes in place of the usual Cream of Chicken Soup. I add some chicken broth or flavoring though. I also would never eat this alone as soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have made this several times and if you half the sugar it is amazing good enough to eat jsut like it is. For the sake of trying a healthier version, (and because I am in love with cooking and eating) I have adjusted this to be slightly what one may call lighter/healthier, although it may not be in the least:) 4 cups milk 2 TBSP Whole Wheat Flour 1 TBSP Corn Starch 1 TBSP white sugar 1/4 cup cooked chicken 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon black pepper 1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder 1/8 cup minced onion 2 TBSP olive oil 1 cup Chicken Broth Sautee onions in 1 TBSP O/O until tender, add cooked chicken & all seasonings, + 1 cup water, bring to simmer for 5 min, remove from heat and pour into food processor. Heat 1 TBSP O/O and add flour, create roux, assemble recipe as directed, then pour into food processor and process till smooth, mix cornstartch with equal amount of milk and add to mixture, return to stove and cook till thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I also added some onion powder, omitted the sugar, and added some chicken bullion. I also needed more flour to thicken it up. It was a great recipe to replace the canned cream of chicken soup. I am grateful for a homemade alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I loved it because it was quick & easy. I did not add sugar or salt. But i did add powder chicken flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
i say three out of four stars because a novice like myself was able to accomplish it and actually it was good, really easy to make thoughtless even. I added it over rice and all I thought that it was missing was a few mushrooms and it wouldve been just like campbells
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I agree that I would never eat cream of chicken soup plain anyway, but I use this as a base for turkey noodle casserole after holidays and we love it. It's perfect for my husband's high blood pressure because of the low sodium, and it's simple. I throw in some leftover veggies from the holiday dinner at the end and serve it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States