Cream of Chicken Soup From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Common sense told me this is for condensed soup...but common sense isn't so common these days. Why give a bad rating for HOMEMADE soup when your fail proof plan was to use the canned soup anyway? I'm glad I found this recipe as the canned soup contains wheat and I cannot have gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I had to change for our restaurant. I used the 40 serving adjustment but numbers didn't look right. I used 3 gallons of stock and 7 cups flour with 10 cups milk and ran through food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Perfect. I used Knorr chicken granuales and water instead of chicken stock and added 2 envelopes of Herb Ox sodium free chicken buoillon to make it more chicken flavored without adding more sodium. Not sure if I needed to do that though because I did it without tasting it first. My family liked it, used it in our usual pot pie recipe and we really couldn't tell the difference. I understood the slurry just fine and had no problems at all. I'm going to make a batch of the spices so next time I use it I just have to add milk, water and slurry. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I've never written a review before but had to rave about this....I'm gluten and dairy free so made this with gluten free flour and rice milk. I also used Knorr's condensed chicken stock mixed with the 1.5 cups water to give a rich flavor. (Instead of liquid stock as stated in recipe) This turned out perfectly for my husband's famous chicken stew...we've never made it dairy free and now we can!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
@erimess - the directions clearly state that you are to make a slurry with the flour and remainder of COLD milk. I think you didn't follow the recipe correctly, and because of that your review is extremely unfair and inaccurate. I followed the directions except I halved he recipe (only needed one can of soup) - it turned out great and I was very pleased with the results. Thank you for providing this excellent base and substitute for the canned stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a good base for a dish I had in mind. But the end result following this recipe had very little flavor even though I did use pan drippings. I had to put in two packets of Swanson Flavor Boost and some powdered chicken bouillon. I made this to use up some leftover rotisserie chicken which I added with some sliced mushrooms and served over rice. The end result after doctoring was very good. Pure comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this recipe EXACTLY as written and it turned out perfect. To those of you that had problems with adding the milk/flour mixture to the hot liquid, this is called a slurry. Made of flour or cornstarch and mixed with some kind of cold liquid. It is a method that is in many of the recipes that my grandmother handed down. I mixed the slurry in a glass measuring cup with a pouring spout, so that I could stream it into the hot broth mixture slowly. Make sure you are whisking properly and don't walk away from it. I get less lumps using this method than using a rue. I used this with leftover cubed turkey and a few veggies for chicken and biscuits. Way better than buying the canned stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Okay, don't get mad folks (or submitter) but this is backwards on technique. A flour/butter roux should be made first and then slowly adding liquids. Yes, with recipe amount of flour it will be a condensed type of soup. So, the 3 stars is due to odd cooking instructions. Now, this is just a "FYI" - but I decided to create my own version of this soup (which is located in my "recipe box"). I thought I'd share and made it public so if anyone cares to, they can check it out. I'm not sure if I plan to submit it with Allrecipes just yet so that's the only reason I mention it. The seasonings and most ingredients in this recipe is what inspired me - so thanks for that BabyDollPie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
So so so so so easy to make instead of just opening a can of that gloppy stuff (which I do still use from time to time, but not every time). I cooked my onion and garlic in canola oil. I didn't add all the seasonings because I was using this in a king ranch mac and cheese recipe that had lots of seasonings. I did scale the measurements down for just enough for one "can".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
First, thank you for a recipe that is all from scratch! :) Second, I love this recipe, use it as often as I can- never like to use cans so I sub this in all of those recipes. It is a great base and lends well to whatever flavors you want. Just personalize the seasoning to your taste. The broth/stock is also going to affect flavor so use what you like. I sometimes use all broth- no milk- and stir in cheddar cheese... Goes great with chicken and broccoli. I also use this base with taco seasoning, mexican cheese, diced green chilies and shredded chicken for the BEST chicken enchiladas. :) This is one of my top five recipes since joining. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States