Cream of Chicken and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very good base for a soup, I did make a few changes I used Light cream instead of Heavy, Instead of water I used chicken broth, I added two extra potatoes and a bunch of different frozen veggies, I let it cook a little longer, but it was worth the wait. Both kids loved it and want me to make it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Keep it Light!I substitued the milk for 1% milk, and the heavy cream with Non Fat 1/2 & 1/2. Not a fan of cumin so I used the Thyme & a bay leaf. Also shortened the whole process with leftover chopped chicken and new potatoes, threw in some bacon lite bits. sprinkled with cilantro-Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This soup is EXCELLENT with a few modifications. I added a little less than 1/2 tsp of cumin and is that a typo re: the heavy cream?!?!? I put in 1/2 pint of heavy cream and mine turned at excellent. I also add some carrot slivers and cut up about 4 pieces of celery. YUM YUM! Made it with beer bread and the family went crazy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I did nmake some modifications. I used light cream instead of heavy cream, and used chicken stock instead of water. I also added some celery and shredded carrots.I did not add the cumin. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Tasty and inexpensive. A great way to use leftover chicken. I also added some frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Really liked this recipe! I made it the first cold day of fall and it really hit the spot. My husband loved it! He not only had it for dinner, but 3 bowls of it for lunch the next day. Thanks You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I skipped the chives, parsley and garlic powder and I used margarine and whole wheat flour (instead of the called-for ingredients) because of what I had in the house. I also used the meat from pre-cooked chicken leg quarters, and I believe this gave the soup more flavor. I also brought it to a low boil before simmering, thinking I was supposed to do that. I pack this in my daughter's thermos for lunch at school and she loves it! Cook it on a Sunday night and you have enough for a few days! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This soup was excellent, I did make one change, added 1/2 cup shredded cheese at end of cook time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This soup was delicious, especially after being refrigerated overnight! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I want to try this but I'm not sure about those two QUARTS of heavy cream. That can't be right... ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States