Cream of Cauliflower and Stilton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gene
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I also forgot to mention, I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and added a few more cloves of garlic. This was my first attempt at a soup and found it very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I used the Danish blue cheese. Don't use any more than the recipe states because it can over power. I did make one addition. I added a little maple smoked bacon to the recipe. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I think it really depends how salty the bleu cheese is, because mine was too sharp to add the salt. (the stilton wasn't available were I live, so I used a creamy danish type) I recommend waiting to spice as indicated in the directions. I had to keep adding milk and cream to mellow the flavor as I did not have more cauliflower. I also used white wine because I didn't have Sherry. One thing I definitely would do again in this recipe is to add potato flakes to the puree. I didn't have a fresh potato, and it worked rather well-without the extra work. I found this recipe to be fun. Don't bother chopping everything fine because you're going to blend it all up! I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
We love cauliflower so we were really looking forward to trying this recipe. However, that amount of celery overwhelmed the cauliflower flavor, and the final product was way too spicy hot. I would recommend less celery, and way less pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is good, but in small batches. The stilton is strong and a little goes a long way. I think it would be great as a side dish, but not as a main soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I wanted to give my version of this 3 1/2 stars but didn't have option. My husband says give it an 80/100 :) I used extra fingerling potatos, no leek, milk instead of cream, and danish bleu cheese. I also served with crusty bread. It was good but I thought leftovers became a bit tough to eat. Its a potent taste (probably the less smooth bleu cheese) and great in small batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Just made this recipe and it is truly wonderful. Only change was to exchange potato for carrot as that is what I had on hand. Next time will use potato. I will make this many times I am sure! Today is hot and sunny and it is still great! Thanks Sean for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April D.
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Such a great, luxurious soup. I used butter instead of vegetable oil and cooked everything up together then pureed 2/3 of the soup and hand mashed the rest using a potato masher and finally jused used half and half instead of the heavy cream and milk. So deliciouse however if you are not a "stinky cheese" person you probably won't love it but if you're like me and think stinky cheese is the bomb then I'm pretty sure you're gonna love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I loved this. The only change that I made was using Camenbert instead of Stilton which is not readily available here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This has become my new comfort food. I had never tried Stilton cheese previously, and it absolutely makes the recipe. I wouldn't suggest using blue cheese as a substitute, it doesn't work as well. This is definitely a keeper, especially in the coming winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNCUCU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States