Cream Of Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Loved this recipe- just enough spice to make it tasty! It's so easy to make & reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Wasn't as flavorful as I wanted..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is a favorite of mine! I almost never follow a recipe exactly, but the spices are just perfect and the ginger gives it a wonderful twist! I enjoy making in extra large batches on the stove top (instead of dutch oven). It freezes well, is inexpensive, healthy, and it is often what a bring friends in need of a home cooked meal. I always get complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious! I roasted the carrots, used chicken stock insted of water and Morroccan seasoning in place of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
With carrots straight from our garden & our special "Ghost Curry" spice from the Savory Spice Shop in Encinitas, this was a 5 star for us!! Didn't make any changes to the original recipe our first batch, but forgot to add the heavy whipping cream to our 2nd & it was STILL great! With the new year upon us, will probably continue to make it w/o the cream to cut down on added calories. This is another allrecipes.com recipe that will become one of our family's homemade classics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Honestly, I probably won't make this again. I guess we just aren't "cream of vegetable soup as a main dish" type people. I served it with a crusty sourdough loaf, which was the wrong bread choice. The tangy bread made the soup taste even sweeter than it was. It would be better with a mild bread, like a crusty warm french loaf. I also used a sweet potato in place of the regular white potato in an attempt to add more nutrients. I would suggest sticking with the white potato. The sweet potato made the soup almost too sweet for a main dish. The soup in general would be better as a side dish or starter course, but I likely won't invest this much work on a side dish. For a main dish, it was simple. Definitly needs the spices to keep it from being too one-note. Did have a nice silky and buttery texture. I had debated roasting the carrots to give them extra flavor, but was glad I didn't waste time... The extra step wasn't needed and there was plenty of carrot flavor. Used my own curry spice recipe based loosely on Alton Browns curry powder recipe. This way I can control the taste better (we arent big curry fans so I use more of the spices I like and leave a few out in our curry powder). Also my 1 year old ate a modest amount, but my 3 year old was not a fan. Hubby liked it, but said it probably wasn't a meal he'd request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I was skeptical that is would turn out good because of the curry and the ginger, but this soup is marvelous ! I never thought that is would be that delicious ! I will defintely keep this recipe and do it again soon .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImanA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This soup was delicious, and so easy and quick. My 2 year old ate it right up. The only thing I changed; I increased the the chicken broth by about a cup because I box of I chicken broth held 4 cups and I just wanted to use it up. I used an immersion blender and it was even faster. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good soup! Simple and healthy. I added a little brown sugar bc I like that combination with carrots. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Good and super easy!!! I followed exactly except for increasing carrots to 3 cups. It ended up being extremely thick so I had to thin it out a little using more chicken broth. Next time I won't make any changes. I loved the taste of the soup before adding the curry powder and did like it with the curry powder. Next time I think we will eat it the first time without the curry and add the curry the next day for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States