Cream Of Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
With carrots straight from our garden & our special "Ghost Curry" spice from the Savory Spice Shop in Encinitas, this was a 5 star for us!! Didn't make any changes to the original recipe our first batch, but forgot to add the heavy whipping cream to our 2nd & it was STILL great! With the new year upon us, will probably continue to make it w/o the cream to cut down on added calories. This is another allrecipes.com recipe that will become one of our family's homemade classics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Honestly, I probably won't make this again. I guess we just aren't "cream of vegetable soup as a main dish" type people. I served it with a crusty sourdough loaf, which was the wrong bread choice. The tangy bread made the soup taste even sweeter than it was. It would be better with a mild bread, like a crusty warm french loaf. I also used a sweet potato in place of the regular white potato in an attempt to add more nutrients. I would suggest sticking with the white potato. The sweet potato made the soup almost too sweet for a main dish. The soup in general would be better as a side dish or starter course, but I likely won't invest this much work on a side dish. For a main dish, it was simple. Definitly needs the spices to keep it from being too one-note. Did have a nice silky and buttery texture. I had debated roasting the carrots to give them extra flavor, but was glad I didn't waste time... The extra step wasn't needed and there was plenty of carrot flavor. Used my own curry spice recipe based loosely on Alton Browns curry powder recipe. This way I can control the taste better (we arent big curry fans so I use more of the spices I like and leave a few out in our curry powder). Also my 1 year old ate a modest amount, but my 3 year old was not a fan. Hubby liked it, but said it probably wasn't a meal he'd request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I was skeptical that is would turn out good because of the curry and the ginger, but this soup is marvelous ! I never thought that is would be that delicious ! I will defintely keep this recipe and do it again soon .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImanA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This soup was delicious, and so easy and quick. My 2 year old ate it right up. The only thing I changed; I increased the the chicken broth by about a cup because I box of I chicken broth held 4 cups and I just wanted to use it up. I used an immersion blender and it was even faster. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good soup! Simple and healthy. I added a little brown sugar bc I like that combination with carrots. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Good and super easy!!! I followed exactly except for increasing carrots to 3 cups. It ended up being extremely thick so I had to thin it out a little using more chicken broth. Next time I won't make any changes. I loved the taste of the soup before adding the curry powder and did like it with the curry powder. Next time I think we will eat it the first time without the curry and add the curry the next day for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sone
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was amazing but I changed the recipe slightly - instead of removing veggies to place in food processor after cooking for 30 mins I grated the carrots and chopping all veggies in the processor prior to cooking. So at 30 mins everything was already blended well and at that point I just added 1/2 cup cream cheese and 1/2 cup milk to substitute the heavy cream with 1/3 cup of curry paste and stirred on low for 10-15 more mins. I also left out the celery because I didn't have any on hand - but feel like it didn't need it. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I have made this 4,5 times already and my entire family loves it. The only thing I altered was less curry. It was very over powering. However, I know there are different types and I think mine was very strog. So , I only use a pinch. Otherwise, awesome! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe and actually just finished making it for the second time. This time I doubled the recipe. My only adjustment was replacing the potato with sweet potato because I absolutely love them. My honey really loved it also. I was short on time and had it for breakfast the other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Loved the soup, tweaked it to our own likes by adding 1/2 tsp nutmeg, Tbls curry, 3cups carrots, 1/2tsp garlic powder. Thanks great with nice salad and hot crispy french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States