Cream Of Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Made this exactly as written (well...halved it and kinda regretted it, no leftovers). It was delicious. I served it on a hot summer day with a hefty spinach salad. My husband and I had small bowls and my soup loving but ginger disliking 9 year old had seconds to finish off the pot. Will definitely make again. Would be easy and reliable to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
i made this right after I had my tooth removed:( did it very differently - just chopped tons of carrots, 1 potatoe (all I had) and some onion, sauted this bunch of stuff in 1/2 butter - sauted long time - 20 min maybe. then added water adn some broth granuals, and tsp ginger and bit of celery seed. just mashed it all together. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Didn't change a thing. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Excellent- but then, carrots are one of my favorite vegetables. Only substitution, I used EVOO rather than butter, and skipped the curry. Definitely a 'keeper'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Loved this recipe- just enough spice to make it tasty! It's so easy to make & reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Wasn't as flavorful as I wanted..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is a favorite of mine! I almost never follow a recipe exactly, but the spices are just perfect and the ginger gives it a wonderful twist! I enjoy making in extra large batches on the stove top (instead of dutch oven). It freezes well, is inexpensive, healthy, and it is often what a bring friends in need of a home cooked meal. I always get complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious! I roasted the carrots, used chicken stock insted of water and Morroccan seasoning in place of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
With carrots straight from our garden & our special "Ghost Curry" spice from the Savory Spice Shop in Encinitas, this was a 5 star for us!! Didn't make any changes to the original recipe our first batch, but forgot to add the heavy whipping cream to our 2nd & it was STILL great! With the new year upon us, will probably continue to make it w/o the cream to cut down on added calories. This is another allrecipes.com recipe that will become one of our family's homemade classics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Honestly, I probably won't make this again. I guess we just aren't "cream of vegetable soup as a main dish" type people. I served it with a crusty sourdough loaf, which was the wrong bread choice. The tangy bread made the soup taste even sweeter than it was. It would be better with a mild bread, like a crusty warm french loaf. I also used a sweet potato in place of the regular white potato in an attempt to add more nutrients. I would suggest sticking with the white potato. The sweet potato made the soup almost too sweet for a main dish. The soup in general would be better as a side dish or starter course, but I likely won't invest this much work on a side dish. For a main dish, it was simple. Definitly needs the spices to keep it from being too one-note. Did have a nice silky and buttery texture. I had debated roasting the carrots to give them extra flavor, but was glad I didn't waste time... The extra step wasn't needed and there was plenty of carrot flavor. Used my own curry spice recipe based loosely on Alton Browns curry powder recipe. This way I can control the taste better (we arent big curry fans so I use more of the spices I like and leave a few out in our curry powder). Also my 1 year old ate a modest amount, but my 3 year old was not a fan. Hubby liked it, but said it probably wasn't a meal he'd request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States