Cream of Broccoli Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This soup was so easy to make & very filling! I used 1/2 cup of cottage cheese (pureed) in place of the heavy cream for a lighter base. I used cheddar and mozza and added finely chopped zuchini and thin sliced ham. Since my broccoli was already steamed, it took about 20 minutes to prepare the soup before I served it for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
This soup was delicious! I used frozen broccoli florets which made it a lot quicker to make. I used 2 cups of heavy cream because I didn't have any milk. Next time I will use a little bit more flour for thickening. This came out great and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
It was great. but, I put 1 med. onion and used half and half and colby jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I was looking for a cream of broccoli recipe that doesn't use a canned soup mix. This was a great and easy to make soup. I reduced the amount of heavy cream to 1/4 cup, but it still tasted rich and creamy. I added some carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Absolutely excellent. I only season mine with salt and pepper, and use vegetable broth instead of chicken, so it's completely vegetarian :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This soup ROCKS!! I am not a fan Broccoli, but do like Broccoli Cheese Soup and this recipe is the Best! I had to use powdered milk instead of milk/cream that this recipe called for, but the taste was marvelous. I used a pressure cooker to soften the broccoli and continued as the directions indicated. I think I will double the recipe next time so I have some to put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was really good soup. I made it exactly as the recipe said. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Really good, made at the ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I was looking for a soup that didn't use any "cream of" soups in it and came across this. I added a carrot in with the onion and celery just to get a little more veggie vitamins mixed in. I added half the broccoli to the soup at the end when it was simmering all together. I then put the soup in the food processor to smooth it out as I didn't want celery, onion or carrot chunks in it. I then took the other half of the broccoli and coarsely chopped it and added it to the pureed soup. It was excellent. My 1 1/2 year old loves broccoli so I figured this would be a big hit and it was! I like that it doesn't have an overwhelming amount of cheese and that it didn't use processed cheese either! ETA: I never use heavy cream, I used 2 1/2 c. milk and 1 1/2 c. half and half. I also use half butter/half olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane019

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States