Cream of Broccoli Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Wow! What a great soup for a cool day's lunch or dinner. So delicious. I read the reviews and I did substitute equal parts Greek Yogurt and Sour Cream in place of the Heavy Cream. I placed the Broccoli in the blender with about a cup of the retained broth and blended half of the Broccoli, then I added it all in before the cheese. Also, as another reader suggested, I added Thyme and Pepper as once I tasted it something was missing - and these were perfect additions, just made the soup one notch above! I think this is wonderfully creamy and flavorful, but I do not think that I would prefer cheddar over the mozzarella for this recipe. Add a few croutons on top and serve! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent! Used 1.5 cups of old cheddar and added roasted chicken and one clove of garlic. Creamy and full of flavour - even better the next day. Will definitely make this again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Quite bland - Not much flavor. Maybe because I used left over broccoli stalks instead of the florets. The recipe is incomplete as it does not tell you what to do with the broccoli. After mixing all the liquids I poured a little at a time into a blender adding the cooked broccoli a few pieces at a time to puree the soup. BTW: I always use evaporated milk in place of the cream and used boxed chicken stock instead of bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathia
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
i was happy of the way it tasted it! I used I fat free half and a half instead of heavy cream and I cooked the broccoli on chicken broth so I did skipped the step on diluting the bouillon on the brocoli water. i used also 2 tbs of butter instead of three and it came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, San Jose , Costa Rica
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
oh my goodness!!! although i did add the broccoli back to te pot. love it love it love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was really good! Very chunky- I think next time I may put half of it in the blender to make a creamier soup. I would also add some garlic cloves, but that's just a personal taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I thought this soup was real easy and good. It took no time to make and the whole family loved it. The only issue I had was mixing the milk into the butter and flour mixture. It got clumpy but I was able to smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Really yummy. I used sharp cheddar because that is what I had. I'm not sure if a more mild cheese would have tasted as good. I also used black pepper. It seemed to add a little zip. It didn't feel like it took that long to make. I also used a bag of frozen broccoli and ran it all through the blender so there were no big chunks. WAY better than store bought soup. Will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Loved it. Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
It would of been better with cheddar, but it still was very good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States