Cream of Broccoli Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I tried this soup and tastes really nice, but i also made some changes. I added a little nutmeg (didn't have paprika or Worcestershire) and also one clove of garlic, minced. And as someone said this recipe doesn't say what to do with the broccoli, but i choped it a little and added it to the soup. Also, i think mozzarella it's not the best choice of cheese for this soup, it didn't melt completely. But my daughter loved it anyway! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Nice tasting, quick and easy soup. The only changes were to use a bag of frozen broccoli in place of the fresh, powdered chicken bouillon instead of cubes, and 2C half/half in place of the milk/cream mixture. I made these changes to accomodate the ingredients I had on hand. Thank you, my 6yr old son and husband loved it. UPDATE: I've made this soup many more times. I still use the bag of frozen broccoli, but I've found there is no need to transfer to a blender to puree. I take my potato masher and mash away. The soup has the perfect smooth/chunky consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Wonderful soup! Didn't have bouillon and used 1 cup chicken stock, 1 cup reserved liquid, and I only used milk, no cream. I would recommend just chopping up the cheese to save time. Also left out celery,and didn't miss it at all...it just complicates the flavour. All in all, creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was very Yummy!! I added a little twist on my soup.I preassure cooked my fresh broccoli for about 15 mins and sauteed shallots (instead of onions) and celery in unsalted butter and added 2Tblsp of white wine I even used a 1+1/2 cup of the broccoli stock and a 1/2 cup of chicken broth with a pinch of nutmeg, I also cut back on the chicken Boullion intead of 2 cubes I only used 1 cube to make it even less salty I left out on the salt all together. This was delish.To avoid the flour from lumping, mix it with the cold milk then dump it in the soup as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This recipe was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a bit more flour because I like my soups extra thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Good but not the best..I liked it but not enough to make it again. I don't think mozzarella cheese is quite right for my idea of cream of broccoli soup but it might be for other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I was looking for a soup that didn't use any "cream of" soups in it and came across this. I added a carrot in with the onion and celery just to get a little more veggie vitamins mixed in. I added half the broccoli to the soup at the end when it was simmering all together. I then put the soup in the food processor to smooth it out as I didn't want celery, onion or carrot chunks in it. I then took the other half of the broccoli and coarsely chopped it and added it to the pureed soup. It was excellent. My 1 1/2 year old loves broccoli so I figured this would be a big hit and it was! I like that it doesn't have an overwhelming amount of cheese and that it didn't use processed cheese either! ETA: I never use heavy cream, I used 2 1/2 c. milk and 1 1/2 c. half and half. I also use half butter/half olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This soup was so easy to make & very filling! I used 1/2 cup of cottage cheese (pureed) in place of the heavy cream for a lighter base. I used cheddar and mozza and added finely chopped zuchini and thin sliced ham. Since my broccoli was already steamed, it took about 20 minutes to prepare the soup before I served it for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Really good, made at the ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes however to make it more enjoyable to my household. I used 2 large carrots(grated) instead of the celery and cooked them in with the onion. I also substituted the heavy cream for milk to make the soup a bit lighter. You will need to add more flour to the recipe if you opt for using milk instead of cream if you still want the thickness. Once the broccoli, onion and carrot were cooked I put it all in my blender with the milk and pureed it, before putting it all back into the pot and then adding the stock and cheese. I also used old cheddar instead of mozza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States