Cream of Broccoli Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
After reading some of the other reviews/suggestions, here is my take. Basic soup was good, but I added more chopped garlic and roasted garlic seasoning to the broccoli. I noticed the flour/butter mixture did tend to clump a little, but I solved that by tossing it back in the blender with a drop or two of chicken stock and smoothing it down (and yes, being from south Louisiana, I do know how to make a roux!). Also, I used whole wheat flour just cause I like the extra "goose" of flavor and texture it gives a roux - one of my cooking tricks that I usually don't reveal :-). Finally, to add a little more body to the soup, I sauteed a handful of chopped mushrooms in butter, roasted garlic seasoning and another splash of chicken stock. After adding the sauteed mushrooms to the soup, I cooked it about 10 minutes more over a low heat and served that puppy up. The shrooms thickened it up just right, and I suspect it'll taste even better tomorrow after the flavors blend a little more. Bon appetit, y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Very good tasting and easy soup to make. The only thing I would do differently is only puree half of the broccoli and then chop the other half, it seemed to have too much grit in it with all of broccoli pureed'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I thought the recipe was excellent with the combination of the broccoli and garlic. YUM YUM!!The only problem I had preparing it was the fact that I think the recipe calls for too little butter with the amount of flour that the recipe uses. It just turned into a big pasty mess. I've made the recipe numerous times and I now add a touch more butter to it (adds a little fat to the recipe, but not enough to worry about) and it comes out perfect. Also, it sounds like a strange combination, but I've also added chicken to it on occasion to make it a one-bowl dinner on those lazy days. The best compliment I can think of to give this recipe is that my mother loved it. And if you know my mother, she doesn't like anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Just made the soup and it was a breeze. I checked out the other recipes and chose this because of the simplicity and the garlic. That's the key to this soup. I put a little extra in as well as a little more broccoli hoping to make it a little thicker. It's not a thick soup but it is very tasty. This will be a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I really wanted to like this soup, but it was too thin. I am used to a thicker cream of broccoli in restaraunts and was hoping this was something close. There was not much flavor either, even after I added double the margarine/butter. I did learn that making this soup was not that hard, so not a complete loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I never follow recipes as reads, so I used homemade ham stock, not chicken broth, & added a few handfulls of chuncked ham...mmmm good!! And, true to form for us, in goes chopped onions. Gotta have 'em! Don't be afraid to try new things, see what you have in your pantry & you will be suprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Wife loved it, I thought it was 'pretty good.' Fairly easy to make once you get the consistency right... Kinda lacked flavor... but a quick glance at the ingredient list could have tipped me off to that. I added some cheese in my bowl and it helped. Next time, probably just make broccoli cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
A bit involved with respect to preparation, but *very* tasty and smooth. The chunks of broccoli give this dish some texture, while the pureed broccoli provides great flavour. This receipe is now in our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I felt that this soup was a bit on the runny side. I also think that next time, I would either roast or saute the garlic before adding it.. the end product was way to garlicky for my tastes. But I love how healthy the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMegster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
added lots of garlic, pepper, and a little bit of feta cheese. YUM YUM YUM! Like drinking a salad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States