Cream of Broccoli Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Very delicous I might try adding flour after poring chicken broth in becuase browining the flur with the butter in the beginning caused it to clump! Other than the few clumps it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This is great soup, have made it several times in the past, then lost the recipe. I use whole milk or 2% and put pieces of steamed stem into the soup along with the pureed broccoli. If you know how to make a roux you shouldn't have lumps as another person said she had. Great Soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
So-so, I even added 2% milk, garlic and more butter and the soup was still awfully bland...won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I thought the recipe was excellent with the combination of the broccoli and garlic. YUM YUM!!The only problem I had preparing it was the fact that I think the recipe calls for too little butter with the amount of flour that the recipe uses. It just turned into a big pasty mess. I've made the recipe numerous times and I now add a touch more butter to it (adds a little fat to the recipe, but not enough to worry about) and it comes out perfect. Also, it sounds like a strange combination, but I've also added chicken to it on occasion to make it a one-bowl dinner on those lazy days. The best compliment I can think of to give this recipe is that my mother loved it. And if you know my mother, she doesn't like anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This soup was good, but not terrific. It was missing something. Next time, I would add cheese and maybe some sauted onion and red bell pepper. Just to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I found this recipe to be very good for a low fat recipe. I love cream of broccoli soup and this is very satisfying. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Very good tasting and easy soup to make. The only thing I would do differently is only puree half of the broccoli and then chop the other half, it seemed to have too much grit in it with all of broccoli pureed'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This soup was easy to make and tastes delicious. I threw in a few cups of shredded cheddar cheese, but it's fine without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This soup was...ok. It's a little too garlicky I think, and overwhelms every other flavor in the soup--might need to be renamed to garlicky cream of broccoli soup...Also, not sure if this was my inexperience with cream soups (although I have made sauces with this same milk and flour base in the past) or the kind of margarine I used (Land O'Lakes Light), but the mixture of the flour and the melted butter never quite "thickened" for me. It actually became clumpy and stayed that way, even after adding all the other ingredients. I ended up having to fish out clumps of flour and butter...smashing them did no good, they just became pasty and regrouped into other clumps. Doubt I'll be making this again (at least with this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
Good stuff. I just got a taste because my sweetie ate the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States