Cream of Broccoli Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I usually don't add any salt to begin with just to see whether it needs it: this does need a little, but SO good and so filling! I pureed all of the broccoli in two batches: the first batch as described in the recipe and the rest to be added later. I will be making lots of this and freezing it in icecube trays to be warmed up for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Edible. Disappointment. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I enjoyed this soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Great recipe! I add to it sometimes: chicken, mushrooms, potatoes, cheese. But it is delicious all on its own! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was alright. It was quick and easy, but not out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This recipe was awesome. It took no time to make, and I have an 8 month old on my heels at all times. I followed the recipe to a tee, except I added about 4oz. of 2% Cheddar Cheese before I added in the puree & chopped broccoli. It wasn't to cheesy. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Just made the soup and it was a breeze. I checked out the other recipes and chose this because of the simplicity and the garlic. That's the key to this soup. I put a little extra in as well as a little more broccoli hoping to make it a little thicker. It's not a thick soup but it is very tasty. This will be a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Yay! I made this soup in no time flat! Needs lots o salt to (my)taste. It's like a fool proof recipe-hey I made it AND it came out perty good. Will definitely make again and again. I had some heavy cream in the fridge and I figured I'd use it before it went bad so i added that -1/2 cup and 1cup-ish 2% milk, I didn't wanna use too much flour so I added cornstarch as a thickening agent as well(1tspn starch & 1 tspn cold water in small container- then to hot soup). This was low cost too which adds to it's appeal. Next time I will take another reviewers tip and make a nice lil meal out of this by adding shredder or diced chicken. yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Wife loved it, I thought it was 'pretty good.' Fairly easy to make once you get the consistency right... Kinda lacked flavor... but a quick glance at the ingredient list could have tipped me off to that. I added some cheese in my bowl and it helped. Next time, probably just make broccoli cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
After reading some of the other reviews/suggestions, here is my take. Basic soup was good, but I added more chopped garlic and roasted garlic seasoning to the broccoli. I noticed the flour/butter mixture did tend to clump a little, but I solved that by tossing it back in the blender with a drop or two of chicken stock and smoothing it down (and yes, being from south Louisiana, I do know how to make a roux!). Also, I used whole wheat flour just cause I like the extra "goose" of flavor and texture it gives a roux - one of my cooking tricks that I usually don't reveal :-). Finally, to add a little more body to the soup, I sauteed a handful of chopped mushrooms in butter, roasted garlic seasoning and another splash of chicken stock. After adding the sauteed mushrooms to the soup, I cooked it about 10 minutes more over a low heat and served that puppy up. The shrooms thickened it up just right, and I suspect it'll taste even better tomorrow after the flavors blend a little more. Bon appetit, y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States