Cream of Broccoli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is a five star recipe with my changes. I halfed the chicken broth to 4 cups and substituted heavy cream for the cream of mushroom. I also add dijon mustard to my cheese broccoli soup, it is the secret weapon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Yummy comfort food! Being vegetarian, I used veg broth. Also used cream of broccoli instead of mushroom soup. Used combination of shredded sharp cheddar and mixed shredded Mexican cheese blend. I finely diced half of the fresh broccoli before adding it to the soup (rather than using a blender) and the consistency turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
yum!. i cooked the brocooli in with the onion and broth etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I love this soup! It has a smooth texture and cheesy taste! Very easy and quick soup recipe! Leftovers are great too! I thickened with potato flakes like other reviewers as well-made it very quick and easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaysMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This is very easy, very tasty soup!! I cut down on the salt and used Chicken base unstead of chicken broth. I also slightly blended the broccoli...I will be making this recipe over and over again....Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was simple and very tasty. I used chicken bouillon cubes because I didn't have any chicken stock. I also used half and half cream as well as the mushroom soup and with my immersion blender this soup turned out fantastically creamy. I don't think that you have to follow this recipe very closely, it is very forgiving. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My whole family, even the 2 yr old loved this soup. The only thing I added was one tsp of nutmeg. the nutmeg takes out the bitter broccoli taste. I have made this soup several times and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
AMAZING. Just as good if not better than Panera's broccoli cheese soup. Creamy, cheesy and delicious. I used one can of chicken broth, 1 1/4 cup milk, 1 stalk celery, 1/4 of an onion, celery salt, salt and pepper, frozen broccoli (heated in microwave for 3 minutes), and just sharp cheddar cheese. Also, I didn't have cornstarch so I looked up the substitute and used 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made this soup for a large group and had all compliments and several requests for the recipe. I used a suggestion from another member to use instant potatoes instead of cornstarch. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Easy & tastes great. Used mashed potatoes to thicken, instead of cornstarch. Used cooked frozen brocolli with cauliflower. Will make again. Thanks, CD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States