Cream of Broccoli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This soup recipe is very good. The only thing different I did was saute the onions and cerlery in a stick of butter and used 1/2 and 1/2 for part of the milk to make it richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
So...full...now... I've never made cream of broccoli before and I found this recipe so easy to make for a newbie. I just finished a bowl maybe 15 minutes ago and I'm still savouring it in my head. I halved the recipe and just used a cup and a half of marble cheese, it was fine. Next time I'll double the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I love this recipe, but I cannot give it the 5 star rating, because I altered it a bit for my taste. I leave the condensed mushroom soup out (my daughter doesn't like mushroom and I don't think it is essential for the taste) and I add no salt, in fact I use only 6 or 7 chicken broth cubes. It is no problem to add more salt afterward, if you like it with more, but you cannot take saltiness away afterward. It is important to use American cheese. I've tried some other cheeses, which is ok, but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was simple and very tasty. I used chicken bouillon cubes because I didn't have any chicken stock. I also used half and half cream as well as the mushroom soup and with my immersion blender this soup turned out fantastically creamy. I don't think that you have to follow this recipe very closely, it is very forgiving. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this soup but we thought it needed more cheese so I added a fourth cup of shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was a really good recipe that even my kids loved. Although I did make a few changes. I precooked the onion and celery before adding the broth and mush soup. I also added fresh broccoli at this stage and simmered for the time indicated. I then used a hand blender to make it a bit smoother, leaving some broccoli whole. I would also recommend cutting back on the milk by half as it was too liquid. I am used to cream soups being more thick. Adding leftover mashed potatoes also worked well to thicken. At the very end, I added crumbled cooked bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
great recipe. leave out the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Park Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Awesome, we ate the leftovers for several days. It was easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipe is exceptional. I didn't have chicken broth so I substituted beef broth but it still worked out well. I had 1 cup of leftover mashed potatoes in the fridge so I added it just to use it up. I will definitely be making this one again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is a five star recipe with my changes. I halfed the chicken broth to 4 cups and substituted heavy cream for the cream of mushroom. I also add dijon mustard to my cheese broccoli soup, it is the secret weapon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States