Cream of Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is the simplest basic recipe for creme of asparagus and it can be made simpler. I omitted the flour and it still came out delish. Instead of onions I added leaks, which for the most part, I did not puree and these gave the soup some body. I used one leek, almost top to bottom. First I sauteed the leeks in the butter, then added the can of broth and half&half. I used only one can (14 oz.) of chicken broth. Then I steamed the asparagus until then were bright green but still crunchy. I pureed the asparaus (left some for garnish) and mixed in with the broth. Three really basic steps. It fed two adults and three children (ages 6,8,3)with about 1/2 serving left over. I used no other flavoring but what the recipe called for (and the leeks) and the taste was wonderful. I did not use pepper (kids might not like it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was SO easy and SO delicious! I took the advice of the previous reviewer and added the Cayenne pepper. I included it with the asparagus and broth in the first seven minutes. For those who don't like a kick to their soup - omit. Otherwise this was great. I was worried that the asparagus would need to be pureed - don't bother. Much more taist whole. Will do this over and over. Really quick and yummy (also - veggie broth is perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
This was the first soup I have ever made from scratch & I thought it tasted great and was very easy to make. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth though because I'm vegetarian. I would reccomend cutting the asparagus up even smaller than reccomened, maybe 1/2 inch pieces. I also added about 1/4 cup of parmesean cheese. YMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I am sitting here eating this right now & I must say that for as quick and simple as it was, I wouldn't hesitate to serve it for company. The only things I did different than the recipe were cutting my asparagus into smaller pieces & adding a little dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I thought this was quite easy, and very good. I made a batch for my husband and I, and because I liked it so well, made some for a sick friend. The only thing I can complain about is that there is NO WAY this recipe feeds 8 people as stated in the recipe. We had it for supper,and each got a good sized bowl. I would say if you were having cups of soup instead of bowls, you might feed 4 people. I served it with crusty bread for a nice supper on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
Made this soup first according to the recipe, and it was good. Then I pureed the soup and added 1 teaspoon of ground cayenne pepper to spice it up. If you like your soup a little spicey, you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
An adequate, basic recipe to use more as a guide or reference tool. I didn't care for the margarine called for so I used butter. And, because I wanted a *creamier* Cream of Asparagus Soup, I used equal measurements of chicken broth and half and half. I don't know creamy this would be if prepared with so little half and half! I didn't feel all that flour was necessary so I reduced it by nearly half, but because I used a higher proportion of half and half than the recipe directs, I probably didn't need any at all. I sauteed some minced shallot and garlic before adding the asparagus, then seasoned it lightly with Herbes de Provence to give it another dimension of flavor. Finally, I pureed the soup, which is different than the recipe directs. The final result was a 5-star soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Surprisingly tasty and easy. I used veggie stock like some reviewers, and I added cayenne as suggested by others. I also added some dill, a tiny tiny bit of nutmeg, and a sprinkle of MSG for good measure. The dill really perked it up, and a little bit of cayenne went a surprisingly long way. I was concerned it would be bland, but that was not the case at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Absolutely delicious and stays good for a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This was a very good, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACALK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States